Sharma and Kamran Akmal fined over T20 spat

Two were involved in an altercation during the 18th over of Pakistan's innings

The ICC has fined India pace bowler Ishant Sharma and Pakistan wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal following an incident during the first Twenty20 international at Bangalore on Tuesday,the ICC said in a statement in Dubai.

The two got into an argument when Akmal was declared not out after he was caught off a no ball by Ishant, and was beaten on the next ball.

While Akmal was penalised 5 per cent of his match fee after he pleaded guilty to breaches of Article 2.1.8 of the ICC Code of Conduct, Sharma had to forgo 15 per cent of his match fee for the incident that happened in the 18th over of the Pakistan's innings.

After reviewing the evidence and the video footage, ICC match referee Roshan Mahamana re-confirmed his view that Sharma initiated this incident which was reported by all four umpires – on-field S Ravi and C Shamsuddin, TV umpire VA Kulkarni and fourth official K Srinath.

However, Sharma appealed the penalty and a hearing was held. Therefore a penalty of 15 per cent of the match fee was imposed.

“The game was played in the true spirit till this incident was initiated by Ishant, who is an experienced cricketer, which led to the umpires and his team mates having to intervene,” Mahanama said in a statement issued through the ICC.

Print
  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus

Videos

Most Popular in Sports

Latest jobs available

More jobs on Emirates 24|7

Follow
Emirates 24|7

Follow
Emirates 24|7
Pinterest Facebook Facebook Twitter RSS

In Case You Missed It ...