Group C, with Sri Lanka and South Africa

Captain: Brendan Taylor.

Coach: Alan Butcher

Zimbabwe are not expected to trouble the big boys, but the 20-over format provides lot of scope for upsets. Zimbabwe proved the point when they shocked Australia in the inaugural World Twenty20 in South Africa in 2007, with current captain Brendan Taylor sealing a five-wicket win with an unbeaten 60 off 45 balls.

Zimbabwe have only a small number of potential match-winners, but if they perform at their peak they are a side that cannot be discounted. Their bowling is steady, with the spin of Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya and veteran Ray Price likely to be a key factor on the slow pitches of Sri Lanka, and they are an athletic fielding team.

Although Zimbabwe have lost their last 12 official T20 internationals, they had two morale-boosting wins in three matches against a strong South African XI in a triangular tournament in Harare in June. Zimbabwe cruised to a nine-wicket win against their neighbours in the final, with their top three batsmen, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda and Taylor all making runs. They will rely heavily on these three in Sri Lanka, with Elton Chigumbura also capable of hitting hard in the closing overs.

Zimbabwe squad: Brendan Taylor (capt), Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Craig Ervine, Graeme Cremer, Ray Price, Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu, Richard Muzhange, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya, Forster Mutizwa.


  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in Sports


Emirates 24|7

In Case You Missed It ...

Happiness Meter Icon