Gaga to receive style icon award

Lady Gaga (AP)

Lady Gaga's wild no-holds-barred wardrobe has created a fashion revolution - and for that she'll get this year's style icon award from the Council of Fashion Designers of America.

CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg and executive director Steven Kolb announced the nominees and honourees for the annual industry awards at a reception at the DVF studio.

The other major prize to be awarded at the June 6 ceremony, for lifetime achievement, will go to Marc Jacobs, considered by insiders to be the most influential American designer working now.

Living up to that hype, Jacobs was also nominated in the competitive womenswear designer of the year category against Alexander Wang, and the design duo Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler.

Jacobs, in his late 40s, is one of the youngest designers to be honoured with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

Von Furstenberg said she had already received an email from him joking that he would like the award reduced to a "half-lifetime award".

"I told him that I'm much older than him and I'm still kicking," von Furstenberg told the crowd, which included Vera Wang, Anna Wintour, Zac Posen, and Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen.

The Olsens were nominated in the womenswear category for emerging talent for their collection The Row, as were Prabal Gurung and Joseph Altuzarra.

Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim and Robert Geller will compete in the up-and-coming menswear designer category, and Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie Borgo, Pamella Love and Jason Wu in accessories.

In addition to the statuette, winners named as new talent also receive a financial prize from crystal company Swarovski.

Print Email