7.04 PM Saturday, 3 June 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:00 05:25 12:20 15:41 19:09 20:35
03 June 2023

Dubai eGovernment’s ePay generates Dh4.3 billion in 2012

By Staff

A record Dh4.3 billion was collected through internet payments in 2012 as per the latest statistics revealed by Dubai eGovernment Department.

This indicates an increasing demand and confidence in government transactions from customers, as Dubai continues its remarkable eTransformation.

The over Dh4.3 billion from 3,322,278 transactions on the ePay portal in 2012 is a 13 per cent increase compared to 2011, while the number of transactions rose by 15 per cent. In 2011, Dh3.8 billion was collected through 2,883,396 transactions.

Dubai Customs, Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA), Dubai Health Authority (DHA), Department of Economic Development and Roads & Transport Authority (RTA) were the top five government entities respectively in terms of the electronically collected amounts, while DHA, DEWA, Dubai Customs, RTA and Dubai Police were the top five government entities respectively in terms of the number of transactions achieved.

Ahmad bin Humaidan, Director General of Dubai eGovernment, said: “These results clearly indicate the favourable pace of eTransformation in Dubai as reflected by the increasing adoption of ePay as a preferred mode of payment to complete government transactions on one hand and the higher degree of confidence shown by customers in the efficiency and safety of this option on the other. We have made great strides towards eGovernment applications, specifically in financial transactions, which need to be highly secure for both individual and corporate users. Dubai eGovernment was also able to enhance the customers’ assurance through multiple developments and new channels offered. ”

Bin Humaidan added: “This service allows both corporate and individual customers to pay online for over 250 government services provided by the participating entities, either through credit cards or direct debit from the customer’s account in the five participating banks; namely, Commercial Bank of Dubai, Dubai Islamic Bank, Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank, Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank and Union National Bank.”