ICC World T20 trophy tours Pakistan [video]

Next port of call in Bangladesh and Sri Lanka

The ICC World Twenty20 2016 trophy was unveiled in a ceremony in Pakistan's cricketing hub Lahore on Tuesday (January 12) after it arrived in the country a day earlier for a two-day tour.

In the ceremony, held at Bagh-e-Jinnah, Pakistan's women cricket team captain Sana Mir, Chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board's Executive Committee Najam Sethi, Chief Operating Officer PCB Subhan Ahmad and Commissioner Lahore revealed the trophy.

Bagh-e-Jinnah park is a famous cricket ground since 1885. The ground played host to Pakistan's first unofficial Test against the West Indies in 1948. Bagh-e-Jinnah became a Test venue when Pakistan took on India in 1954-55.

"We just came from South Africa and we head to Bangladesh tomorrow. My time here has been an incredible trip and I am thankful to body. Good luck to Pakistan in the World T20,"said ICC representative David Palmer.

Chairman of Pakistan Cricket Board's Executive Committee, Najam Sethi, said the world will take interest in Pakistan's performance if they perform well in the upcoming series with New Zealand.

"It will be a good test of our performance if we play well in New Zealand series. After that, God willing, when the World T20 takes place, everyone will be looking towards Pakistan's performance."

The trophy also made a stop at the Kinnaird College University before being brought to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) headquarters, the Gaddafi Stadium.

Earlier, on Monday (January 12) the trophy was uncovered by Pakistan ODI captain Azhar Ali in a ceremony at the Army Public School in Peshawar where over 130 children were killed in a Taliban attack in 2014.

The ICC World Twenty20 2016 trophy set out on a worldwide voyage from Mumbai on Sunday, 13 December and proceed to New Delhi for February 1.

Scotland was the trophy's first port of call, before it travelled to Ireland, England and the Netherlands as part of its European leg.

As a part of its African safari the trophy went to Harare, Zimbabwe (January 2 and 3) and then moved on to Capetown, South Africa (January 5 to 7).

Its first stop in the subcontinent is in Pakistan and then it will go to Bangladesh (January 14 and 15) and later Sri Lanka (January 17 and 18).

It will visit 12 countries taking part in the tournament, which will be staged in India from March 11 to April 3, 2016.