India beat Holland by five wickets

Indian cricketer Yuvraj Singh, right, plays a shot during a Cricket World Cup match between India and Netherlands in New Delhi, India. (AP)

India overcame mid-innings hiccups to beat the Netherlands by five wickets in a Group B match on Wednesday to maintain their unbeaten run in the World Cup.

Chasing 190, Sachin Tendulkar (27) and Virender Sehwag (39) provided a brisk start before India lost five wickets and it took Yuvraj Singh's mature 51 not out to steer them home in 36.3 overs.

Opting to bat first, the Netherlands had earlier put 189 runs on boards before losing all their wickets in 46.4 overs at the near-capacity Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium.

Eric Szwarczynski (28) and Wesley Barresi (26) provided a sedate 56-run opening stand and down the order, captain Peter Borren (38 off 36 balls) came up with a desperate knock to push the score but the 200-mark eventually eluded them.

E. Szwarczynski b Chawla             28
W. Barresi lbw b Yuvraj              26
T. Cooper c Dhoni b Nehra            29
R. ten Doeschate c Zaheer b Yuvraj   11
A. Kervezee c Harbhajan b Chawla     11
B. Zuiderent lbw b Zaheer             0
T. de Grooth run out                  5
P. Borren c Nehra b Zaheer           38
B. Kruger run out                     8
Mudassar Bukhari b Zaheer            21
P. Seelaar not out                    0
Extras: (b6, lb3, w2, nb1)           12
Total (all out; 46.4 overs)         189
Fall of wickets: 1-56 (Szwarczynski), 2-64 (Barresi), 3-99 (ten Doeschate), 4-100 (Cooper), 5-101 (Zuiderent), 6-108 (de Grooth), 7-127 (Kervezee), 8-151 (Kruger), 9-189 (Borren), 10-189 (Bukhari).
Bowling: Zaheer 6.4-0-20-3, Nehra 5-1-22-1, Pathan 6-1-17-0, Harbhajan 10-0-31-0 (w2), Chawla 10-0-47-2 (nb1), Yuvraj 9-1-43-2.

V. Sehwag c Kervezee b Seelaar        39
S. Tendulkar c Kruger b Seelaar       27
Y. Pathan c and b Seelaar             11
G. Gambhir b Bukhari                  28
V. Kohli b Borren                     12
Yuvraj Singh not out                  51
MS Dhoni not out                      19
Extras: (w4)                           4
Total (for five wickets; 36.3 overs) 191
Fall of wickets: 1-69 (Sehwag), 2-80 (Tendulkar), 3-82 (Pathan), 4-99 (Kohli), 5-139 (Gambhir).
Bowling: Bukhari 6-1-33-1 (w2), ten Doeschate 7-0-38-0 (w2), Seelaar 10-1-53-3, Borren 8-0-33-1, Cooper 2-0-11-0, Kruger 3.3-0-23-0.

Result: India won by five wickets
Toss: Netherlands
Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Bruce Oxenford (AUS)
TV umpire: Billy Doctrove (WIS)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Print Email