Indo-Pak clash on Sept 17 ahead of World T20

First meeting between the two rivals since the Asia Cup

India and Pakistan are poised to clash ahead of the World Twenty20 event when they face-off in a warm-up match on September 17 at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

It will be the first meeting between the Asian heavyweights since the Asia Cup tournament held Bangladesh in March this year where India won by six wickets.

India won a thriller against Pakistan by five runs to emerge champions in the inaugural World Twenty20 tournament held in South Africa in 2007.

The Indo-Pak warm-up match will be preceded by an Indo-Lanka clash at the P. Sara Oval on September 15.

Pakistan's second warm-up match will be against defending champions England on September 19 at the P. Sara Oval.

It could be the only occasion these two sides meet during the World T20 extravaganza since India have been drawn in Group A with defending champions England while Pakistan are Group D favourites.

However, depending on their standings in the Super Eights, there is still a possibility of a mouth-watering battle between the two rivals in the knockout stages.

Hosts Sri Lanka's will face West Indies in their opening warm-up match on September 13 at NCC grounds.

A total of 12 warm-up matches will be played ahead of the group stages of the September 18 to October 7 event.

None of these matches, including India and Pakistan match which will be broadcast live by ESPN STAR Sports, will carry official Twenty20 International status, according to the ICC.

India will open their campaign against Afghanistan on September 19 while Pakistan face New Zealand in their first outing on Septbmer 23. Hosts Sri Lanka take on Zimbabwe in the opener at Hambantota.

Pakistan are in a buoyant mood after taking an unassailable 2-0 series against Australian in the T20 series being played in Dubai, UAE.

India are playing host to New Zealand in a T20 series with the first match in Visakhapatnam being washed out.

The match referees’ responsibilities throughout the men’s tournament will be shared between Ranjan Madugalle and Jeff Crowe of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees while Graeme Labrooy of the ICC Panel of Regional Referees, will be the match referee for the September 21 and 23 matches in Pallekele before travelling to Galle to oversee women’s group stage  of the event which will take place from September 26 to October 1.
For Madugalle, who has overseen 46 T20Is to date, it will be his fourth successive ICC World Twenty20 after he also refereed in the 2007, 2009 and 2010 events in South Africa, England and the West Indies, respectively while for Crowe, it will be his second ICC World Twenty20 after he led the playing control team in West Indies in 2010. Crowe has officiated in 30 T20Is to date.
The on-field responsibilities will be shared by all the 12 umpires from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, namely: Billy Bowden, Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Ian Gould, Tony Hill, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Asad Rauf, Simon Taufel and Rod Tucker, who will be joined by Bruce Oxenford of the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires.

Schedule of warm-up matches:

13 - Ireland v Zimbabwe, Moors Cricket Ground

13 - Sri Lanka v West Indies, NCC

15 - Afghanistan v Sri Lanka A, Moors Cricket Ground

15 - Australia v New Zealand, NCC

15 - Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, Colts Cricket Ground

15 - India v Sri Lanka, P. Sara Oval

17 - India v Pakistan, R. Premadasa

17 - Bangladesh v Ireland, Moors Cricket Ground

17 - England v Australia, NCC

17 - New Zealand v South Africa, Colts Cricket Ground

17 - Afghanistan v West Indies, P. Sara Oval

19 - England v Pakistan, P. Sara Oval


  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in Sports


Emirates 24|7

In Case You Missed It ...

Happiness Meter Icon