Irish skipper Porterfield fined after blast at umpire - Emirates24|7

Irish skipper Porterfield fined after blast at umpire

Irish captain William Porterfield was reprimanded by World Cup organisers on Monday after publicly attacking an umpiring decision in their 44-run defeat by West Indies last week.

Porterfield said a reviewed decision to give Irishman Gary Wilson out lbw although he appeared to be hit outside the off-stump while playing a shot -- thus not out -- had been wrong.

"I am still trying to understand (the decision) myself," he said after Friday's game in Mohali.

"The feedback we have got so far is that the ball hit him outside the line and the umpire judged him not playing a shot. I don't know how many people agree with that."

He said the incident had been a turning point in the defeat.

Porterfield pleaded guilty to a section in the International Cricket Council's (ICC) code of conduct which bans public criticism of officials.

He was given an official reprimand but was not fined as it was his first such offence, the ICC statement said.

Comments

Comments