Seven Seas Strikers lift Al Barakah Cup

Randhawa smashes 119 off 53 balls to set up victory

A belligerent century by Salman Randhawa (119 off 53 balls) helped Seven Seas Strikers defeat the more fancied Yogi Group by 17 runs in the final of the inaugural Al Barakah Cup at DIP cricket ground.

The tournament was held under the auspices of the Dubai Cricket Council and organised by Seven Seas Sports Club.

Put into bat first, Seven Seas got a solid start through openers Waqas (43) and Gulam (35).

The main onslaught came from middle order batsman Randhawa who slammed 10 sixes and seven boundaries in his 53-ball knock.

Yogi got off to a flyer with Shaimon cracking 66 off 12 fours but lacked support at the other end.

At 153 for 6, all seemed lost, but for a cameo from Sahadab, who scored 91 off just 44 balls with the help of eight sixes.

Unfortunately it was not enough as veteran Freddy Sidhwa managed to snap up wicket and ensure Seven Seas lift the trophy.

All prizes were donated by Al Barakah Pastry and Juices.

Brief scores:

Seven Seas Strikers beat Yogi Group by 17 runs: Seven Seas Strikers 271 for 7 in 25 overs (Salman Randhawa 119, Waqas 43; Ajmal 2-36, Samad 2-34) Yogi Group 254 for 8 in 25 overs (Shaimon 66, Ajmal 40, Shadab 91; Kashif 2-39, Shafaqat 2-53, Salman 2-39)


Man of the match: Salman Randhawa of Seven Seas Strikers
Best Batsman: Shaimon Butt of Yogi Group
Best Bowler: Shafaqt Ali of Seven Seas Strikers
Man of the Tournament: Salman Faris of Yogi Group

  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in Sports


Emirates 24|7

In Case You Missed It ...

Happiness Meter Icon