Captain: Mushfiqur Rahim.

Coach: Richard Pybus

Unfashionable Bangladesh are hardly among the favourites, but their knack of surprising big teams in limited-overs contests means they need to be taken seriously.

They began the inaugural 2007 World Twenty20 in South Africa on a sensational note when they knocked the West Indies out of the tournament with a six-wicket victory, qualifying for the second round.

Bangladesh failed to make it to the second round in the next two editions in England (2009) and the West Indies (2010), but have produced some encouraging results in recent months.

They beat 50-over World Cup champions India, and runners-up Sri Lanka, in the Asia Cup at home in March before losing to Pakistan in the final.

Bangladesh also won four of their six T20 matches on their tour of Europe in July, including a 3-0 sweep against Ireland.

Led by wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim, Bangladesh have a hard-hitting opener in Tamim Iqbal and talented all-rounder in Shakib Al Hasan who are capable of winning matches.

Bangladesh squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Mohammad Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Junaid Siddique, Jahurul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Elias Sunny, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shafiul Islam, Farhad Reza, Abul Hasan.


  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in Sports


Emirates 24|7

In Case You Missed It ...

Happiness Meter Icon