IPL KXIP v RCB: Kohli's Bangalore win last-ball thriller


Royal Challengers Bangalore pulled off a thrilling one-run victory over Kings XI Punjab on Monday night.

Chasing a target of 176, a brilliant half century by Murali Vijay (89) kept Punjab in the hunt.

Needing 17 off the last over, Stoinis gave them hope by smashing a boundary and six off Jordan.

But requiring a boundary off the last ball, Stoinis who remained unbeaten on 34 managed only a couple as Punjab finished on 174-4.

Chahal claimed two for 30 and Watson two for 22.

A blistering half century by AB de Villiers (64) and a belligerent knock of 42 by Rahul powered Royal Challengers Bangalore to 175-6 after being put into bat by Kings XI Punjab.
Sachin Baby run out 33 (29b 1x4)

Travis Head c Vijay b Sandeep Sharma 11 (7b 1x4)

Sandeep has the last laugh after being whacked for a six and a boundary by AB de Villiers who scoops to short third man. RB 155-4, 17.5 overs.

AB de Villiers c Cariappa b Sandeep Sharma 64 (35b 5x4 2x6)

AB de Villiers cracks two consecutive boundaries off Mohit to race to a 30-ball 50. RCB 143-3, 17 overs.

Double strike by Cariappa as Kohli hits straight to short cover. RCB 64-2, 7.5 overs.

Virat Kohli c Vijay b Cariappa 20 (21b 2x4)

Cariappa draws first blood bowling Rahul round his legs. RCB 63-1, 7.3 overs.

Lokesh Rahul b Cariappa 42 (25b 6x4 1x6)

Rahul gives Axar the charge, clears the infield for a boundary. RCB 56-0, 6 overs.

Stoinis goes for 20 as Rahul turns it on smashing three boundaries and a six over extra cover. RCB 44-0, 4 overs.

Kohli and Rahul are on their way with a boundary apiece off Sandeep. RCB 9-0, 1 over.

Kings XI Punjab have won the toss and put Royal Challengers Bangalore into bat in Match 39 of IPL at Mohali.

Farhaan Behaardien is in as KXIP leave out Glenn Maxwell.

Anureet Singh is in for Gurkeerat Singh.

RCB have made one change - Iqbal Abdulla is in for Parvez Rasool.

KXIP: Murali Vijay, MP Stoinis, Hashim Amla, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, WP Saha, Axar Patel, Mohit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, KC Cariappa

RCB: Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson, Travis Head, Sachin Baby, Stuart Binny, Chris Jordan, Iqbal Abdulla, Varun Aaron, Y Chahal