DPL Season Four begins on November 20

16 teams to compete for title

The Desert Premier League (DPL) Twenty20 cricket tournament presented by CricOn will be held from November 20 to December 18 at the Fairgrounds in Dubai Academic City.

The tournament, which will be held under the auspices of the Dubai Cricket Council and Dubai Sports Council will see as many as 16 teams compete for the title.

The confirmed teams include Al Fara’a, ANIB on Top, The Blighty Ducks, CricOn, Fly Emirates, Ibsons, Johnson Controls, Melia Dubai, NMC, Omega Insurance, Red Flower CC, Sky Bridge Freight Solution, Starline CC, Team Interface, TNS CC and Wombats. 

The press conference held at Melia Hotel on Saturday was graced by former Pakistan cricketer Imran Nazir.

“I’m excited to be a part of this tournament. I enjoy watching cricket in the UAE which brings together a mix of players from different countries. The weather is getting perfect and I’m sure we will witness some great matches in the next one month. I wish all the teams’ good luck,” said Nazir.

The tournament will carry prize money of Dh 50,000 and trophies for outstanding performers.

While thanking everyone for the tremendous support, Tournament Director Moin Mohammed said: “We are delighted to announce the fourth edition of the tournament. We have come a long way since we made a beginning two years ago.

“I’m grateful to all the sponsors who have stayed with us and supported us in all our endeavors. Special thanks to the Emirates Cricket Board and Dubai Cricket Council for their support. We are confident of producing another successful tournament which promises to have some cracking matches.

“We always have strived hard to provide the best possible facilities for the participating teams and maintain the highest standards during the tournament.”

Dubai Cricket Council’s  Shoeib Muljani was also present during the occasion.
“We are delighted to support Desert Premier League. We have always supported tournaments that help in the growth of the game in the region,” said Shoeib Muljani.

  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus


Most Shared

Happiness Meter Icon