7.07 PM Tuesday, 26 September 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:52 06:05 12:13 15:36 18:15 19:28
26 September 2023 $dmi_content.escapeHtml4($rs.get('weather.code.w${report.significantWeather.code}')) Max: 39 °

Closing date for Riba Awards is February 19

By Staff Writers

The closing date for the Royal Institute of British Architects (Riba) Awards programme is February 19, said the body. It is once again on the lookout for potential Riba Stirling Prize winners.

Practices up and down the country are urged to submit projects of architectural excellence to the 2009 Riba Awards scheme. Energy performance statistics, signed by an environmental engineer, are highly desirable for all entries and mandatory for those projects with a contract value over £1 million (Dh5.3m).

If the building is outside the European Union or is in the rest of the EU and designed by a practice based outside the UK it will be entered for the Riba International Awards.

From 2009, the Riba National Awards will no longer be presented, but judging for the Riba Awards and Stirling Prize remains unchanged.

From this year there will not be a separate Riba European Award category. If the building is in the European Union and is designed by a practice whose principal office is in the UK, it will be eligible for an Riba Award and ultimately, the Riba Stirling Prize. The Riba Awards have been running continuously since 1966 and are judged locally. Riba Awards are given for buildings that have made a substantial contribution to the local environment.

The awards will be announced on May 21.

Any building by an Riba Chartered member or Riba International Fellow is eligible to enter the awards. Buildings must be completed and occupied between the dates of January 1, 2007 and February 19, 2009. The Riba Client of the Year honours the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture.