10.59 AM Saturday, 18 May 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:07 05:29 12:18 15:42 19:01 20:24
18 May 2024

Web pioneers to be honoured at Pan Arab Awards

By Staff Writer



The Pan Arab Web Awards Committee yesterday announced the launch of the 4th edition of the awards – the annual ceremony dedicated to the best electronic websites in the Arab world – following three hugely successful previous editions. Nomination applications for all categories of the awards will be accepted until February 25, 2008.

The contest is the first event of its kind that aims to honour creative talents in developing and designing websites in the Arab region, in addition to promoting the protection of intellectual property rights.

The Awards are open to organisations, individual site designers and developers, and website owners from Lebanon, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman, Jordan, Qatar, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Syria, Egypt and Palestine. Registration can be completed at panarabwebawards.org.

“The huge success of the previous editions has motivated us to repeat the event and appeal to an even broader audience this time,” said Pierre Moukarzel, Founder and Chairman of the Pan Arab Web Awards.

“In our present digital knowledge-based era, websites have become important sources of information, and with e-commerce rapidly gaining popularity, web characteristics such as design and functionality help to give a clear picture about the company that owns or operates the site.

“We aim through this award to give participants a chance to demonstrate their creativity and shed light on the importance of respecting intellectual property rights,” Moukarzel added.

The winner of the best overall website will win the Diamond Award – the highest honour in the contest, which was last year won by the web portal eyeofdubai.com. Each of the 34 categories in the competition will include three winners, where the first winner from each category will be awarded a golden trophy, silver for second, and a bronze for third, respectively. A committee comprising and web design and development experts will select the winners.

The award categories include: banks, financial institutions, electronic trade, educational institutions, fashion, government and private institutions, municipalities, hospitals and the best electronic website in industry, international organisations, consulates, advertising and media, personal, sports, tourism, land and marine transport, airline companies, car rental and sales, entertainment, real estate, and more.

Winners from Arab countries will be honoured at a special dinner ceremony on April 26, 2008in the Al Falak Hall of the Burj Al Arab, Dubai.