6.24 AM Monday, 11 December 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:31 06:50 12:15 15:12 17:34 18:53
11 December 2023

Hrithik, Farhan, Abhay boycott awards function

Cast of Hindi Indian Bollywood film "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" (L-R) Katrina Kaif, Farhan Akhtar, Hrithik Roshan, Abhay Deol, Kalki Koechlin pose during the start of the promotional tour Mumbai To Delhi in Mumbai. (AFP)


After filmmaker Sanjay Gupta claimed that Zoya Akhtar's much hyped 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara' is a rip-off of 'Fandango', the entire team of the film boycotted the Colors Screen Awards function in Mumbai.

The film's main cast had an A-list of actors including Hrithik Roshan, Farhan Akhtar, Abhay Deol, Katrina Kaif and Kalki Koechlin.

However, Katrina had prior commitment to perform during the function so she was the only member present from the team.

Directed by Zoya Akhtar, the film is considered to be one of the best films produced from Bollywood in 2011. It has also been nominated for many top categories is different award functions.

But the jury members of Screen Award had a tough time deciding on the winner of Best Film between 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara' and 'The Dirty Picture'.

Sanjay Gupta vehemently opposed the selection of the movie as the Best Picture and said that it was copy of a Hollywood movie. There was heated exchange of words and arguments during the jury meeting.

According to reports in NDTV, the ZNMD team stayed away after they heard of a "ridiculous scheme" to keep two filmmakers and their teams happy by putting them both up for Best Picture.