11.40 AM Thursday, 7 December 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:29 06:47 12:13 15:10 17:33 18:51
07 December 2023

SRK-Ranbir to host Filmfare Awards tonight

By Ajanta Paul

Begining of the year it's awards galore for Bollywood. It is that time of the year where actor reap what they sow.

The year 2012 opened with The Colors Screen Awards followed by the Zee Cine Awards, 7th Chevrolet Apsara Awards.

Today it's time for the Idea Filmfare Awards soon to be followed by the Stardust Awards.

But of all the awards it seems the stars wait for the filmfare more than any other. For the Bollywood fraternity it's their Academy Awards.

The red carpet is rolled out for stars and celebrities as they walk down to celebrate the greatest and the best of Hindi Cinema. Bollywood stars sashay stardom, dressed in their classiest, gorgeous best come to honour and cheer for their colleague.

Since it's inception in 1954, Filmfare witnessed history with legendary stars along with new league of actors emerging in Bollywood.

The Idea Filmfare Awards on 29th of January at the Film City studio, Mumbai, this year will see a rising star along with a superstar hosting the event - Shah Rukh Khan and Ranbir Kapoor.

With the maximum number of nominations it looks like this year the contest for awards will be between Zoya Akhtar's 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara' and Imtiaz Ali's 'Rockstar' have received the maximum number of nominations this year.

'Rockstar' bagged 9 nominations, including that for Best film, Best director for Imtiaz Ali , Best actor for Ranbir Kapoor and Best Music director for A R Rahman.

Zoya Akhtar's directorial venture 'Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara' got eight nominations including for Best film, Best director for Zoya Akhtar, Best actor for Hrithik Roshan and Best Music director for Shankar Ehsan and Loy.

The Shah Rukh Khan starrer 'Ra.One' won four nominations along with 'Delhi Belly' and 'The Dirty Picture'.

Ranbir and Vidya Balan have sweeped the best actor/actress award in almost all the award functions this year. And in Filmfare too these two stars seem to be the favourite.

A unique feature of the 57th Filmfare awards will be that Filmfare will award its 2500th trophy this year, which also marks the 100th year of the Hindi film industry.