5.42 AM Tuesday, 25 June 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:00 05:27 12:24 15:45 19:16 20:43
25 June 2024

'Revenant,' 'Mad Max,' 'Game of Thrones' win Art Directors Guild Awards

Actor Leonardo DiCaprio arrives at the 22nd Screen Actors Guild Awards in Los Angeles, California January 30, 2016. (Reuters)

By Reuters

'The Revenant,' 'Mad Max: Fury Road' and 'The Martian' walked away with film honors at the Art Directors Guild's 20th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards Sunday night.

'Game of Thrones,' 'House of Cards' and 'American Horror Story: Hotel' were among the TV champs.

'The Revenant' fended off composition in the period category from 'Bridge of Spies,' 'Crimson Peak,' 'The Danish Girl' and 'Trumbo.'

'Mad Max' won over 'Cinderella,' 'Jurassic World,' 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens' and 'Tomorrowland' in the fantasy field, while 'The Martian' topped 'Ex Machina,' 'Joy,' 'Sicario' and 'Spectre' in contemporary.

All three film winners were Oscar-nominated. The other Oscar nominees in the category are 'Bridge of Spies' and 'The Danish Girl.'

The ADG period winner has often gone on to win the Oscar.

'Joy' helmer David O. Russell won ADG's Cinematic Imagery Award, which was presented to him by Josh Brolin. Russell made an impassioned speech about how storytelling lifts the spirit. "Stories have seen me through the night, stories have saved my life," he said.

Production designer Patrizia von Brandenstein, the first woman to win an Oscar in production design, for 'Amadeus,' received the org's lifetime achievement award. William (Bill) J. Newmon, Hollywood's first African American set designer, scenic artist Bill Anderson and matte artist Harrison Ellenshaw were also honored by the ADG.

The org also inducted four pioneering women into its hall of fame: production designer Carmen Dillon, production designer and illustrator Dorothea Holt Redmond, production and costume designer Patricia Norris and art director and set designer Dianne Wager.

Film journalist and on-air personality Robert Osborne was presented by Eva Marie Saint with ADG's newly created William Cameron Menzies Award, named for the pioneering production designer of 'Gone With the Wind.'

Osborne was unable to attend. Actress Diane Baker accepted the award on his behalf.

See the full list of winners below.


Period Film 'The Revenant' (Production Designer: Jack Fisk)

Fantasy Film 'Mad Max: Fury Road' (Production Designer: Colin Gibson)

Contemporary Film 'The Martian' (Production Designer: Arthur Max)


One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series 'Game of Thrones' - 'High Sparrow,' 'Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken,' 'Hardhome' (Production Designer: Deborah Riley)

One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series 'House of Cards' - 'Chapter 29,' 'Chapter 36' (Production Designer: Steve Arnold)

Television Movie or Limited Series 'American Horror Story: Hotel' - 'Checking in' (Production Designer: Mark Worthington)

Half Hour Single-Camera Series 'The Muppets' - 'The Ex-Factor,' 'Pig's in a Blanket' (Production Designer: Denise Pizzini)

Multi-Camera Series 'The Big Bang Theory' - 'The Skywalker Incursion,' 'The Mystery Date Observation,' 'The Platonic Permutation' (Production Designer: John Shaffner)

Awards or Event Special 'The Oscars: 2015' (Production Designer: Derek Mclane)

Short Format: Web Series, Music Video or Commercial Apple Music: 'The History of Sound' (Production Designer: Jess Gonchor)

Variety, Reality or Competition Series 'Key & Peele' - 'Ya'll Ready for This?' / 'The End' (Production Designer: Gary Kordan)