3.07 PM Wednesday, 6 December 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:28 06:47 12:13 15:10 17:33 18:51
06 December 2023

Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol bag top honours at Filmfare Awards

Shah Rukh Khan and Yash Chopra presented Amitabh Bachchan an award for completing 40 years in the film industry. (FILMFARE)

By Agencies/Staff

The 56th Idea Filmfare Awards saw Bollywood icon Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol winning the Best Actor and Actress award, respectively, for My Name Is Khan.

Small budget film, 'Udaan', directed by Vikramaditya Motwane made a clean sweep taking home seven Filmfare Awards including Best Supporting Actor (Male), Best Film (Critics), Best Story, Cinematography, Screenplay, Best Background Music and Best Sound Design Award.

Ace producer and director Karan Johar walked away with the Best Director award for My Name Is Khan, while Salman Khan starrer Dabangg was declared the Best Film at the event, hosted by Ranbir Kapoor and Imran Khan, reported Indian news television channel NDTV.

Dabangg, the most successful film of 2010, won five awards including Best Action for Vijayan Master; Best Debutant (Female) for Sonakshi Sinha; and Best Music for Sajid-Wajid and Lalit Pandit.

Mamta Sharma won the Best Female Singer for Munni Badnaam Hui in Dabangg and shared it with Sunidhi Chauhan, who won it for Sheila Ki Kawani from Tees Maar Khan.

Band Baaja Baaraat walked away with two awards - Best Debut Director for Manish Sharma and Best Debut Actor (Male) for Ranveer Singh.

Farah Khan walked away with the Best Choreography award for Sheila Ki Jawani from her directorial venture Tees Maar Khan.

The Best Male Singer award went to Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for Dil toh baccha hai ji in Ishqiya. Best Lyrics award went to Gulzar for the song Ibn-e-Batuta from the same movie.

Vidya Balan got the Best Actress (Critics) award for playing a conniving and scheming woman in Ishqiya. Kareena Kapoor walked away with Best Supporting Actress for We Are Family.



Ninety-year-old legendary singer Manna De received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Amitabh Bachchan received an award for completing 40 years in the film industry. Yash Chopra, who presented the award along with Shah Rukh Khan told the gathering, "Amitabh Bachchan is the Best Actor in the world".

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan presented Madhuri Dixit Nene an award for completing 25 years in the film industry. Madhuri recalled her wonderful journey over the years in the film industry and thanked everyone who's been part of her success in the last 25 years.

 List of winners

Popular Awards

Best Actor (Male): Shah Rukh Khan - My Name Is Khan
Best Actor (Female): Kajol - My Name Is Khan
Best Film: Dabangg
Best Director: Karan Johar - My Name is Khan
Best Debut (Female): Sonakshi Sinha - Dabangg
Best Supporting Actor (Male): Ronit Roy - Udaan
Best Debut Director: Manish Sharma - Band Baajaa Baaraat
Best Supporting Actor (Female): Kareena Kapoor - We Are Family
Best Scene of the Year Award: Golmaal 3
Critics Award
Best Actress (Critics): Vidya Balan - Ishqiya
Best Actor (Critics): Rishi Kapoor - Do Dooni Chaar
Best Film (Critics): Vikramaditya Motwane and Sanjay Singh - Udaan

Lifetime Achievement Award: Manna Dey
Special Award: Madhuri Dixit (For completing 25 years in the Indian film industry)
Special Award: Amitabh Bachchan (For completing 40 years in the Indian film industry)

Music Awards
Best Song Composer : Lalit Pandit - Munni Badnam Hui from Dabanng
Best Music Composer: Sajid Wajid - Dabangg
Best Lyrics: Gulzar - Ibn-e-Batuta from Ishqiya
Best Playback Singer (Male): Rahat Fateh Ali Khan - Dil Toh Bachcha Hai Ji (Ishqiya)
Best Playback Singer (Female): Mamta Sharma - Munni Badnaam Hui (Dabangg) / Sunidhi Chauhan - Sheila Ki Jawani
Most Promising Talent in Music: Sneha Khanwalkar - Love Sex aur Dhokha

Technical Awards
Best Choreography: Farah Khan - Sheila Ki Jawani from Tees Maar Khan
Best Dialogue: Habib Faisal - Do Dooni Chaar
Best Screenplay: Anurag Kashyap and Vikramaditya Motwane - Udaan
Best Story: Anurag Kashyap and Vikramaditya Motwane Udaan
Best Background Music: Amit Trivedi - Udaan
Best Action Director: Vijayan Master - Dabbang
Best Cinematography: Mahendra Shetty - Udaan
Best Action Sequence: Vijayan Master - Dabbang
Best Editing Award: Namrata Rao - Love Sex aur Dhoka
Best Production Design Award: Mukund Gupta - Do Dooni Chaar
Best Sound Design Award: Pritam Das - Love Sex Aur Dhoka / Kunal Sharma Udaan
Best Costume Design Award: Varsha and Shilpa - Do Dooni Chaar