Aiba awards: And the winners are… - Emirates24|7

Aiba awards: And the winners are…

The first Arab Indo Bollywood Awards were hosted on May 29 at the Meydan Racecourse, with the glitterati of the Bollywood glamour world coming out in full attendance.

The winners were selected 50 per cent by public voting across the UAE, and another 50 per cent was selected by a special AIBA jury panel, led by noted filmmaker and actor, Tigmanshu Dhulia.

Filmistaan bagged three awards of the night, while Heropanti won two trophies for its two young stars, Tiger Shroff and Kriti Sanon, as did Rajat Kapoor's Ankhon Dekhi.

It was filmmaker Sajid Nadiadwala who shuttled the most on stage as his films bagged several awards and he ended up collection on the behalf of several of his celebrity friends, so much so that he even joked once on stage: 'It feels as if I am the DHL service of the night for my friends. My bags will be full with trophies as I fly home.'

Here's a complete list of winners of the night:

Best Actor: Shahid Kapoor for Haider
Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut for Queen and Priyanka Chopra for Mary Kom
Best Director: Vikas Bahl for Queen
Best Film: PK, accepted by director Rajkumar Hirani
Best Actor Supporting Role Male: Inaamul Haq for Filmistaan
Best Actor Supporting Role Female: Seema Pahwa for Ankhon Dekhi
Best Performance Comic Role Male: Sharib Hashmi for Filmistaan
Best Performance Comic Role Female: Amrita Singh for 2 States
Best Performance Negative Role: Nawazuddin Siddique for Kick
Most Promising Debut Film Director: Sajid Nadiadwala for Kick
Most Promising Debut Male: Tiger Shroff for Heropanti
Most Promising Debut Female: Kriti Sanon for Heropanti
Best Music: Ankit Tiwari for Galliyan, Ek Villain
Best Playback Singer Male: Ankit Tiwari for Galliyan, Ek Villian
Best Playback Singer Female: Kanika Kapoor for Baby Doll, Ragini MMS
Best Art Direction: Omung Kumar for Mary Kom
Best Story: Ankhon Dekhi, taken by Rajat Kapoor
Best Screenplay: Filmistaan taken by Nitin Kakkar
AIBA Gulf Award for Fashion: Manish Malhotra
Arab Youth Icon Male: Varun Dhawan
Arab You Icon Female: Parineeti Chopra