3.54 AM Wednesday, 24 July 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:16 05:39 12:28 15:52 19:12 20:35
24 July 2024

NEC announces locations of voting centres

Photo: WAM


The National Election Commission, NEC, announced the locations of voting centres both inside and outside the UAE, stressing its readiness to receive voters during the FNC Election 2019.

The list of polling stations approved for the main election day on 5th October includes 39 centres within the country, which are fully equipped to ensure a smooth electoral process. Nine of these stations will open early. The NCE also announced the availability of 118 polling stations outside the UAE in its embassies, consulates and diplomatic missions.

Tareq Hilal Lootah, Under-Secretary of the Ministry of State for Federal National Council Affairs, Member of the NEC and Chairman of the Electoral Management Committee, said that the centres will be distributed accordingly as part of a specific plan, to ensure that all registered voters can select their candidates.

"The deliberate distribution of polling stations is based on key factors, such as the geographical distribution of electoral commissions, and will meet standard requirements applicable to electoral centres, to provide the services, facilities and infrastructure required to ensure the success of the election," Lootah added.

According to the election timetable, voting outside the country will take place on 22nd and 23rd September from 10:00 to 18:00 local time in the cities where polling stations are located.

479 candidates permitted to continue FNC election campaigns

The National Election Committee has approved the final list of candidates for the Federal National Council elections 2019 after endorsing all withdrawal applications.

The final list includes 479 names, who are now permitted to continue their electoral campaigns and the programmes related to them, including campaigning in their respective constituencies.

According to the executive regulations of the FNC elections 2019, candidates are not allowed to submit withdrawal applications after the release of the final list.