10.46 PM Wednesday, 17 April 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:35 05:51 12:21 15:49 18:46 20:03
17 April 2024

Maktoum bin Mohammed honors winners of Arab Journalism Award

By Staff

Under patronage of Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai and Chairman of Dubai Media Incorporated His Highness Shaikh Maktoum bin Mohammad bin Rashid Al Maktoum honored the winners of Arab Journalism Award 2017.

The honoring ceremony followed the closing of the 16th Arab Media Forum that was held at Madinat Jumeirah, Dubai.

Chairman of the Mohammad bin Rashid Al Maktoum Knowledge Foundation His Highness Shaikh Ahmad bin Mohammad bin Rashid Al Maktoum, His Highness Shaikh Mansour Bin Mohammad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Secretary-General of the Arab League Ahmad Aboul Gheit, Minister of Cabinet Affairs and The Future Mohammed Al Gergawi, Minister of State and Chairman of National Media Council Dr. Sultan Al Jaber, Secretary-General of the Arab Journalism Award and Chairperson of the Organising Committee of the Arab Media Forum Mona Al Marri and a host of local and regional media leaders attended the ceremony.

The Arab Journalism Award honors 17 outstanding Arab journalists. The winners represented daily newspapers, magazines, online web portals and media organizations from the Arab world.

The award ceremony started with a short video about the recent key events of the world.

His Highness Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum honored the Editor-in-Chief of Asharq Al Awsat newspaper Gassan Sharbel with the Media Personality of the Year award. His Highness also honored prominent Emirati journalist and writer Nasser Al Taheri with the Best Column Award and the Saudi Sabaq electronic newspaper with the Smart Journalism Category Award.

Winners of the Arab Journalism Award are:

Political Journalism Award: Mokhtar Shoaib from Al Ahram newspaper.

Investigative Reporting Award: Imad Abdul Hamid from Al Bayan newspaper.

Cultural Journalism Award: Ahmad Farhad from Ittihad newspaper and Mohammad Shaeer from Literature Newspaper.

Economic Journalism Award: Bassam Abdul Same’e from Ittihad newspaper.

Humanitarian Journalism Award: Mohammad Al Rajee from Electronic Express newspaper.

Specialized Journalism Award: Azab Al Taib Taher from Al Ahram newspaper.

Press Interviews Journalism Award: Ahmad Hashem Ashour from Emarat Al Youm.

Sports Journalism Award: Mahmoud Shawqi from Egyptian Radio and TV Magazine.

Photojournalism Award: Jaafar Sheteya from Agence France-Presse.

Outstanding Cartoonist Award: Amjad Rasmi from Asharq Al Awsat newspaper.

Young Journalist Award: Mohammad Abu Taif from Al Watan newspaper; Alaa Abu Aisha from Palestine newspaper; Mustafa Hosni from Al Masri Al Youm newspaper.

Tunisian singer Latifa and Lotfi Bouchnaq performed a touching song about the current issues facing the Arab world; lyrics by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

This year, the Award’s General Secretariat received over 5,900 submissions by journalists competing from across the Arab world.