New cabinet named in Kuwait

Kuwaiti Prime Minister Sheikh Nasser Mohammad al-Ahmad Al-Sabah formed a new cabinet on Sunday to replace the government which resigned on March 31.

Following is the lineup of the new cabinet, his seventh since 2006 and the 28th since oil-rich Kuwait gained independence in 1961:

- Prime minister: Sheikh Nasser Mohammad al-Ahmad Al-Sabah
- First deputy premier and defence minister: Sheikh Jaber al-Mubarak Al-Sabah
- Deputy premier, foreign minister: Sheikh Mohammad Sabah al-Salem Al-Sabah
- Deputy premier for economic affairs, state minister for housing and development: Sheikh Ahmad Fahad Al-Sabah
- Deputy premier and interior minister: Sheikh Ahmad al-Humoud Al-Sabah
- Deputy premier, minister of social affairs and labour, and justice: Mohammad al-Afasi
- Minister of state for cabinet affairs: Ali al-Rashed (MP, new)
- Minister of oil and parliamentary affairs: Mohammad al-Baseeri
- Minister of education and higher education: Amad al-Mulaifi (new)
- Minister of commerce and industry: Amani Buresli (new)
- Minister of Islamic affairs: Mohammad al-Numas (new)
- Minister of finance: Mustafa al-Shamali
- Minister of health: Helal al-Sayer
- Minister of public works and municipalities: Fadhel Safar
- Minister of communications and information: Sami al-Nasef (new)
- Minister of electricity and water: Salem al-Othaina (new)

Print Email