Afridi CC win AJ Invitation League title

Afridi CC team with officials. (SUPPLIED)

Afridi CC won the AJ Invitation League Tournament when they defeated Nucaf Tellicherry by 26 runs in the final played at Al Dhaid Cricket Village.

Afridi CC, batting first after winning the toss, did well to post 180 all out and then bowled out the opposition for 154 to win the 17th edition of the tournament which was organised by the Sharjah Cricket Council.

Rasheed Ahmed struck a fine 57 off just 27 balls with six fours and five sixes to propel Afridi CC.

Chauhan snared three wickets for 19 runs.

Nucaf Tellicherry, in reply, built their innings around Maqsood (36) and Mashood CTK (32) but they lacked support from other batsmen.

Shahzad Manna bowled well for Afridi CC, taking three for 22.

Brief scores:

Afridi CC beat Nucaf Tellicherry CC by 26 runs: Afridi CC 180 all out in 19.2 overs (Rasheed Ahmed 57, Mohammed Zahid 26, Saqlain Haider 26, Hashmat Khan 21; Chauhan 3-19, Maqsood 2-17, Aman Sherazi 2-30, Mashood CTK 2-36) Nucaf Tellicherry CC 154 all out in 19.1 overs (Maqsood 36, Mashood CTK 32; Shahzad Manna 3-22, Mohammed Adnan 2-26, Haji Irfan 2-27, Hashmat Khan 2-39). Man of the match: Rasheed Ahmed of Afridi CC. Umpires: Amin Shahid and Syed Shabbir Ali.

Print Email