6.54 PM Friday, 19 April 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:32 05:49 12:21 15:48 18:47 20:04
19 April 2024

Cochin Cannons are KCL T20 champions

The victorious Cochin Cannons team with their trophy. (SUPPLIED)

By Staff

Riyaz took five wickets while Jeevan Gangadharan blazed to a quick half century as Capital Group Cochin Cannons secured a 43-run win over Calicut Paragon Calicut Challengers to emerge champions in the Kerala Cricket League (KCL) Twenty20 tournament organised by Willows Cricket Club and held under the auspices of Sharjah Cricket Council.

Losing the toss and forced to bat first at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Cochin Cannons still managed to take early advantage with openers Jeevan and Amith Sidharth (11) making a brisk start.

Despite the fall of Sidharth, Cochin Cannons raced to 43 runs in the first five overs.

Jeevan continued his onslaught striking five sixes and two boundaries to score 72 from the 51 deliveries he faced.

Janardhanan provided him apt support scoring a 19-ball 25 consisting of three boundaries as the duo milked together 48-run partnership for the second wicket.

Thalaivan Salugunan (26 not out, 18b, 2x6) and Nathan (21, 12b, 1x4, 2x6) further strengthened playing blistering knocks to ensure Cochin Cannons reached a healthy 175 for five in 20 overs.

For Calicut Challengers, Aneesh Kakkot bagged three wickets during his four-over spell.

The chase was shaken early on with Calicut Challengers left wondering what struck them as Riyaz ran through the top order picking the first four wickets of his total five.

From 20 for one, where only opener Hafeez Kaleem made a nine-ball 24 including two boundaries and as many sixes, Calicut Challengers were tottering at 38 for six.

Aneesh Kakkot and Zahid Shah did their best to revive their team’s fate, but with a tall target to chase, Calicut Challengers could manage only 132 for nine in 20 overs.

Zahid scored an unbeaten 52 from 47 deliveries and two fours and four sixes, while Aneesh chipped in with 15.

Riyaz finished with a splendid bowling performance to claim five wickets from his four overs conceding only 11 runs, while Jiju, CTK Mashood and Jeevan picked up a wicket each.

Brief scores:

Cochin Cannons bt Calicut Challengers by 43 runs
Cochin Cannons 175 for 5 in 20 overs (Jeevan Gangadharan 72, Amith Sidharth 11, Jiju Janardhanan 25, Thalaivan Salgunan 26 not out, Nathan 21; Aneesh Kakkot 3 for 53). Calicut Challengers: 132 for 9 in 20 overs (Hafeez Kaleem 24, Aneesh Kakkot 15, Zahid Shah 52 not out, Zahir Mohammad 11 not out; Riyaz 5 for 11). Man of the Match: Riyaz
Umpires: Ifthikar Ali and Naveed Ismail.
Scorers: Zameel Hameed and Mohammad Asif.