1.33 AM Monday, 4 December 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:27 06:45 12:12 15:10 17:32 18:51
04 December 2023

Cricket World T20 starts today in India: Know your venues

An Indian blind man walks past graffiti of an Indian cricketer on the wall of the one of the stadium where ICC world Twenty20 tournament will be played, in New Delhi, India, Monday, March 7, 2016. (AP)


Matches will be played in Bangalore, New Delhi, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Nagpur and Mumbai

Facts about the seven venues that will host matches in the World Twenty20, which starts in India on Tuesday:


Name: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Capacity: 40,000

Established: 1969

Number of matches: Three Super 10 group-stage games.

Talking point: The ground, formerly known as Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium, played host to India legend Sunil Gavaskar's last Test innings in a defeat to Pakistan in 1987.


Name: Feroz Shah Kotla

Capacity: 45,000

Established: 1883

Number of matches: Three Super 10 group-stage matches, semi-final.

Talking point: It was here in 1999 that Indian spin legend Anil Kumble took all 10 wickets in a single Test innings against Pakistan.


Name: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium

Capacity: 23,000

Established: 2003

Number of matches: Six first round and two Super 10 group-stage matches, including India versus Pakistan.

Talking point: Surrounded by the Himalayas, the ground, which sits at an altitude of 1,457m above sea level, is one of the world's most picturesque stadiums.


Name: Eden Gardens

Capacity: 66,000

Established: 1864

Number of matches: Three Super 10 group-stage matches and a final.

Talking point: Eden Gardens is arguably world cricket's most atmospheric ground but in 1996, it played host to one of the more shameful episodes in the history of the sport. The World Cup semi-final between India and Sri Lanka was abandoned and awarded to the visitors after Indian fans rioted.


Name: Punjab Cricket Association Stadium

Capacity: 26,000

Established: 1993

Number of matches: Three Super 10 group-stage games.

Talking point: The stadium has 16 floodlights instead of the usual four or six. They are unconventionally low so as not to interfere with aircraft taking off and landing at nearby Chandigarh airport.


Name: Wankhede Stadium

Capacity: 33,000

Established: 1974

Number of matches: Three Super 10 group-stage matches and a semi-final.

Talking point: The stadium was the site of India's World Cup final triumph in 2011 and also played host to legend Sachin Tendulkar's emotional farewell Test in 2013.


Name: Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium

Capacity: 45,000

Established: 2008

 Number of matches: Six first-round and three Super 10 group-stage games.

Talking point: A relatively new addition to the international circuit, the stadium has been praised by players for its modern facilities and is International Cricket Council chairman Shashank Manohar's local ground.