India's Dhoni questions earpiece use by umpires
India captain MS Dhoni Saturday questioned umpires using earpieces during international matches, suggesting the devices might affect their decision-making on the field.
The skipper spoke out after a controversial umpiring decision that saw Pakistan's Khurram Manzoor given not out despite apparently nicking a ball by left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra during India's defeat of their bitter rival during the Asia Cup Twenty20 tournament.
"You know all the umpires now have a walkie-talkie and earpiece in their ear," Dhoni said after leading India to the five-wicket win in Dhaka.
"So effectively, in a way it means that they are umpiring with only one ear and the other ear is stuck with an earpiece."
Dhoni queried whether earpieces were always necessary, suggesting they were affecting umpires' hearing.
He said: "They can't hear and when it's so loud... so definitely they should consider this thing. At least, have both the ears around, there is no point having an earpiece when a bowler is bowling as you don't need to use it then."
Television replays suggested that the ball hit Manzoor on his gloves before it was caught by wicketkeeper Dhoni behind the stumps.
Dhoni had a chat with the Bangladeshi umpire Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid on the field after he turned down India's vociferous appeal.
India eventually dismissed Pakistan for a paltry 83 runs before racing to 85-5 in 15.3 overs for their sixth win against arch-rival Pakistan in seven Twenty20 internationals.
India, however, had overcome a fiery opening spell of Mohammad Amir, who bowled his heart out to take three wickets in his first two overs before finishing with 3-18.
Follow Emirates 24|7 on Google News.