11.33 AM Thursday, 7 December 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:29 06:47 12:13 15:10 17:33 18:51
07 December 2023

Jayawardene smashes record century in easy Sri Lanka win

Sri Lankan cricketer Nuwan Kulasekara (centre) celebrates after he dismissed Canadian cricketer Khurram Chohan (second left) during the Group A match in the World Cup Cricket tournament between Sri Lanka and Canada at the Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium in the southern district of Hambantota. (AFP)

By Agencies

Mahela Jayawardene smashed an 81-ball century, the fastest by a Sri Lankan in the World Cup, to set up a 210-run victory over Canada on Sunday in Group A.

Jayawardene blasted a six and nine fours in his 100 to set up a hefty 332-7 after Sri Lanka won the toss and batted first. He was joined for a 179-run third-wicket partnership by Kumar Sangakkara who was out eight runs short of his century.

In response, Canada lost wickets steadily although some lusty hitting by Rizwan Cheema (37) including two big sixes helped take them past three figures to their eventual 122 all out.

Jayawardene's quickfire knock surpassed the previous Sri Lankan quickest in the competition, 85 balls by Sanath Jayasuriya.

Sri Lanka
U. Tharanga run out                         19
T. Dilshan c Davison b Cheema               50
K. Sangakkara c and b Davison               92
M. Jayawardene c Rao b Davison             100
T. Perera run out                           11
A. Mathews c & b Baidwan                    21
C. Kapugedera c sub (Kumar) b Baidwan        2
T. Samaraweera not out                      18
N. Kulasekara not out                        7
Extras (lb3, nb1, w8)                       12
Total (for seven wkts, 50 overs)           332
Fall of wickets: 1-63 (Tharanga), 2-88 (Dilshan), 3-267 (Sangakkara), 4-276 (Jayawardene), 5-284 (Prera), 6-295 (Kapugedera), 7-314 (Mathews)
Bowling: Chohan 8-0-62-0, Osinde 2.1-0-10-0 (nb1, w2), Baidwan 8.5-0-59-2 (w2), Hansra 9-0-47-0 (w2), Cheema 7-0-47-1, Rao 7-0-48-0, Davison 8-0-56-2 (w2)

A. Gunasekera c Dilshan b Kulasekara         1
J. Davison b Perera                          0
Z. Surkari lbw b Perera                      6
A. Hansra st Sangakkara b Samaraweera        9
A. Bagai c Sangakkara b Prera               22
Rizwan Cheema c Jayawardene b Muralitharan  37
T. Gordon c Sangakkara b Kulasekara          4
Khurram Chohan c Sangakkara b Kulasekara     4
H. Baidwan not out                          16
B. Rao c Tharanga b Muralitharan             6
H. Osinde b Mendis                           4
Extras: (lb8, nb1, w4)                      13
Total: (all out, 36.5 overs)               122
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Davison), 2-8 (Gunasekera), 3-12 (Surkari), 4-42 (Hansra), 5-53 (Bagai), 6-66 (Gordon), 7-74 (Chohan), 8-103 (Cheema), 9-111 (Rao), 10-122 (Osinde)
Bowling: Kulasekara 6-2-16-3, Perera 7-0-24-3, Mendis 7.5-3-18-1 (w1), Muralitharan 9-0-38-2 (nb1, w3), Dilshan 5-0-14-0, Samaraweera 2-0-4-1

Result: Sri Lanka won by 210 runs
Toss: Sri Lanka
Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Shahvir Tarapore (IND)
TV umpire: Tony Hill (NZL)
Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)