New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 59 runs

B. McCullum century guides Kiwis to an easy victory

 Brendon McCullum notched the highest individual score in all Twenty20 internationals to help New Zealand humble Bangladesh by 59 runs at Pallekele stadium on Friday.

The 30-year-old right hander smashed seven sixes and 11 boundaries during his 58-ball 123 to give New Zealand, who reached 191-3 in their 20 allotted overs, a rampaging start to the group D match played under overcast conditions.

McCullum's clean hitting made it gloomy for Bangladesh who were restricted to 132-8 in their 20 overs, with Tim Southee (3-16) and Kyle Mills (3-33) sharing the spoils.

Nasir Hossain played a lone fighting hand with an impressive 39-ball 50, studded with six boundaries and a six while opener Mohammad Ashraful made 21. Shakib Al Hasan fell for 11.

It was all McCullum when New Zealand batted after being sent by Bangladesh.

McCullum hit two sixes in Abdur Razzak's last over of the innings to go clear of South African Richard Levi's previous highest score of 117 made against New Zealand in Hamilton earlier this year.

He fell caught off the last delivery to end Bangladesh's miseries but not before helping New Zealand to 63 runs off the last four overs.

New Zealand lost Martin Guptill in the fourth over but McCullum ensured a big total with his ruthless slogging, hitting Hasan for two sixes in his successive overs.

He added 94 for the second wicket with James Franklin who made 35 and 78 for the third wicket Ross Taylor (14).

McCullum reached his tenth half-century off just 29 balls with the first of two successive boundaries off Ziaur Rahman and continued with the same aggression.

He was dropped on 92 before hitting two boundaries off Elias Sunny to complete his ton off 51 balls.

The knock was McCullum's second T20 century. His first came against Australia at Christchurch in 2010.

Pakistan is the third team in the group, from which the top two will qualify for the Super Eights round.


New Zealand

M. Guptill b Razzak                              11

J. Franklin c Sunny b Mortaza                    35

B. McCullum c Iqbal b Razzak                    123

R. Taylor not out                                14

Extras: (lb2, w6)                                 8

Total: (for three wickets, 20 overs)            191

Fall of wicket: 1-19 (Guptill), 2-113 (Franklin), 3-191 (McCullum).

Bowling: Mortaza 4-0-26-1 (w5), Islam 3-0-34-0, Razzak 4-0-28-2 (w1), Hasan 4-0-40-0, Mahmudullah 1-0-13-0, Sunny 3-0-36-0, Rahman 1-0-12-0


Tamim Iqbal c Guptill b Mills                     0

Mohammad Ashraful lbw b Southee                  21

Shakib Al Hasan c Williamson b Mills             11

Mushfiqur Rahim c Williamson b Mills              4

Mohammad Mahmudullah c Williamson b N. McCullum  15

Nasir Hossain c Guptill b Southee                50

Ziaur Rahman not out                             14

Mashrafe Mortaza c Franklin b Oram                5

Elias Sunny c Oram b Southee                      5

Abdur Razzak not out                              0

Extras: (lb3, w4)                                 7

Total: (for eight wickets, 20 overs)            132

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Iqbal), 2-19 (Hasan), 3-33 (Rahim), 4-37 (Ashraful), 5-87 (Mahmudullah), 6-115 (Hossain), 7-123 (Mortaza), 8-128 (Sunny),

Bowling: Mills 4-0-33-3, Southee 4-1-16-3 (w3), Oram 4-0-34-1, Vettori 4-0-31-0, N. McCullum 4-0-15-1 (w1)

Result: New Zealand won by 59 runs

Toss: Bangladesh

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

Tv umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Graeme La Brooy (SRI)

  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in Sports


Emirates 24|7

In Case You Missed It ...

Happiness Meter Icon