8.46 AM Thursday, 29 February 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:26 06:39 12:34 15:52 18:24 19:37
29 February 2024

Nhormus Divine Sindhis win thriller

Jay Joshi was adjudged man of the match. (SUPPLIED)

By Staff

Nhormus Divine Sindhis pulled off a thrilling one-run win over United Sindhis in the Sindhi Premier Cricket League at the ICC’s Global Cricket Academy ground at Dubai Sports City on Wednesday night.

Jay Joshi and Ashish Bhandari came to the party in the tournament being organised by the Sindhi Cricket Club under the auspices of the Dubai Cricket Council.

Joshi was outstanding with the ball claiming four wickets, while Bhandari excelled with both bat and ball.

Both were in line for the man of the match award but the honours went to Joshi for ripping through the United batting just when they looked set to achieve their target.

Batting first Nhormus put up a competitive total of 161 with the help of Ashish’s unbeaten 56 and Deepak Bhojwani’s cameo of 25 from 15 balls.

United, after a slight stutter at the start, had some good partnerships in the middle when Chirag Makhija (39), Anil Adnani (30) and Ronak Aswani (25) looked like taking their team to victory.

Joshi played a crucial role by seeing the back of all these three batsmen and with Bhandari chipping in with two equally important wickets as Nhormus won the cliff-hanger for their sixth win from eight matches.

Bhandari cracked seven boundaries in his unbeaten 56 from 43 balls.

Kunal Rupani (22) and Karan Bhojwani (20) played their part but Deepak turned the match on its head with his slam bang hitting.

United’s reply was lacklustre but Anil, Chirag and Ronak gave them hope only for Jay to spoil their party.

Brief scores

Nhormus Divine Sindhis beat United Sindhis by 1 run

Nhormus 161 for 7 in 25 overs (Ashish Bhandari 56 no, Deepak Bhojwani 25 no, Kunal Rupani 22, Karan Bhojwani 20; Anil Adnani 1-28, Chirag Makhija 1-19, Jitendra Singh 1-24, Prashant Jatwani 1-32) beat United Sindhis 160 for 9 in 25 overs (Chirag Makhija 39, Anil Adnani 30, Ronak Aswani 25, Kamal Bhagat 18; Jay Joshi 4-31, Ashish Bhandari 2-27, Deepak Bhojwani 1-19, Karan Bhojwani 1-21, Hemant Baharnani 1-9).
Man of the match: Jay Joshi of Nhormus.