8.00 PM Sunday, 3 March 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:23 06:36 12:34 15:53 18:25 19:39
03 March 2024

Pakistan retain suspended Ajmal in central contract

In this photograph taken on August 17, 2014, Pakistan bowler Saeed Ajmal successfully appeals for the wicket of Sri Lankan batsman Dhammika Prasad during the fourth day of the second Test match between Sri Lanka and Pakistan at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) Ground in Colombo. (AFP)


Pakistan cricket authorities on Wednesday retained the suspended spinner Saeed Ajmal while also adding the newcomers fast bowler Sohail Khan and the leggie Yasir Shah in their list of central contracts.

The 37-year-old Ajmal is under suspension for illegal bowling action since September last year and will appear in a reassessment test in Chennai, India on January 24.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said the central contracts will run from January to March 31 this year.

Ajmal was retained in 'A' category along with Test and one-day captain Misbah-ul Haq, Younis Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi and Junaid Khan.

Paceman Junaid was lucky to be retained in the top category despite being sidelined through injury since October last year.

"PCB has extended central contracts up to March 31, 2015 the central contracts awarded for the year 2015 will be awarded in April," said a PCB release.

Shah and Sohail - both part of Pakistan's 15-man squad for next month's World Cup -  have been awarded central contract in Category 'D', the release added.

The term of the previous contracts expired Dec. 31, 2014.

Category 'A' (6)

Misbah-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Junaid Khan.

Category 'B' (3)

Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul.

Category 'C' (6)

Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Adnan Akmal, Khurram Manzoor, Nasir Jamshed, Abdul Rehman

Category 'D' (18)

Sohaib Maqsood, Sarfraz Ahmed, Bilawal Bhatti, Sharjeel Khan, Zulfiqar Babar, Fawad Alam, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Raza Hasan, Umar Amin, Haris Sohail, Rahat Ali, Shan Masood, Mohammad Talha, Anwar Ali, Yasir Shah and Sohail Khan.