9.36 AM Sunday, 19 May 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:06 05:29 12:18 15:42 19:02 20:25
19 May 2024

UAE vs Bangladesh Asia Cup T20: Bangladesh win by 51 runs

By Cricket Correspondent

UAE suffered a huge 51-run loss against Bangladesh in the Asia Cup tournament in Dhaka.

Chasing 134 to win, UAE batsmen looked to be all in a hurry as they were shot out for a meager 82 in 17.4 overs.

Only three batsmen - Rohan Mustafa (18), Mohammad Shahzad (12) and Muhammad Usman (30) reached the double digit in the UAE innings.

For Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed and Mashrafe Mortaza claimed two wickets each.

UAE bowlers again bowled a fine spell to restrict hosts Bangladesh to a mere 133 for 8.

Earlier, Bangladesh got a fine start after being asked to bat first with openers Mohammad Mithun (47) and Soumya Sarkar (21) sharing 46 runs.

But then on wickets kept falling regularly before Mahmudullah scored a quick 36 off 27 to ensure Bangladesh had a challenging total to defend.

For the UAE, Mohammad Naveed and Amjad Javed claimed two wickets each with spinner Ahmed Raza bowling a tight spell giving away only 17 runs from his four overs.


Raza is stumped as UAE is shot out for 82 in 17.4 overs.

Ahmed Raza st Nurul Hasan b Taskin Ahmed 5 (14b 0x4 0x6) 

Taskin sends Usman's stumps cartwheeling as UAE lose their ninth wicket. UAE 71-9 in 15.3 overs.

Muhammad Usman b Taskin Ahmed 30 (30b 2x4 2x6)

UAE lose their eighth wicket. Bangladesh crowd already celebrating. UAE 55-8 in 12.5 overs.

Saqlain Haider c Mashrafe Mortaza b Mahmudullah 2 (4b 0x4 0x6)

Sakib gets his first wicket as Tariq is stumped. UAE are facing a big defeat. UAE 46-7 in 11.2 overs. 

Fahad Tariq st Nurul Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan 0 (2b 0x4 0x6)

UAE skipper Amjad Javed is gone after he slips and falls over his stumps. UAE 45-6 in 10.5 overs.

Amjad Javed hit wicket b Mahmudullah 3 (10b 0x4 0x6)

Rahman on a high as he claims another wicket in a similar fashion, but this time to mid-on. He is on a hat-trick. Swapnil Patil had done well against Sri Lanka. A big loss for the UAE. UAE 34-5 in 7.2 overs.

Swapnil Patil c Mashrafe Mortaza b Mustafizur Rahman 0 (1b 0x4 0x6)

Nothing seems to be going right for UAE batsmen. Shahzad tries to play to leg side but gets an edge for the bowler to take it easily. UAE 34-4 in 7.1 overs

Mohammad Shahzad c & b Mustafizur Rahman 12 (12b 1x4 1x6)

UAE losing their way as Shaiman Anwar departs after getting a thick leading edge to the point. Great bowling from Mortaza. UAE 33-3 in 6.1 overs.

Shaiman Anwar c Mahmudullah b Mashrafe Mortaza 1 (4b 0x4 0x6)  

Another wicket lost for UAE after Mustafa throws away his wicket offering a simple catch to Rehman at third man. UAE 25-2 in 5 overs.

Rohan Mustafa c Mustafizur Rahman b Mashrafe Mortaza 18 (17b 2x4 1x6)

Mustafa survivies after Mustafizur takes a brilliant diving catch off his own bowling but grounds it while completing the dive. UAE 20-1 in 4 overs

UAE lose their first wicket early as Kaleem is caught at mid-on. That was totally uncalled for. UAE 2-1 in 1.3 overs.

Muhammad Kaleem c Mashrafe Mortaza b Al-Amin Hossain 0 (5b 0x4 0x6)

Dropped! Mustafa finds a reprive as Sarkar drops at second slip. UAE 1-0 in 0.3 balls.

UAE openers Rohan Mustafa and Muhammad Kaleem open. Taskin bowls the first over.


In a bid to go for two runs, Taskin is run out off the last ball as Bangladesh finish at 133 for eight in 20 overs.

Taskin Ahmed run out 1 (7m 2b 0x4 0x6)

Nothing going right for Bangladesh as Mortaza departs after Tariq takes yet another catch in the deep. Ban 114-7 in 18.2 overs.

Mashrafe Mortaza c Fahad Tariq b Mohammad Naveed 0 (3b 0x4 0x6)

That's another one for the skipper as he is on a hat-trick. Hasan holes one to Tariq in the deep as Bangladesh slip into deeper trouble. Ban 112-6 in 17.3 overs.

Nurul Hasan c Fahad Tariq b Amjad Javed 0 (1b 0x4 0x6)

Shakib was not in his elements as he is bowled by a high full toss. Ban 112-5 in 17.2 overs

Shakib Al Hasan b Amjad Javed 13 (13b 1x4 0x6)

UAE bowlers have been impressive so far. Bangladesh have five overs and will be keen to accelerate their scoring rate. Ban 94-4 in 15 overs.

The crowd left totally disappointed as Mushfiqur is gone offering an edge to the wicket keeper off Naveed's bowling. It was a good change by the skipper to bring in the pacer. Ban 83-4 in 12.3 overs.

Mushfiqur Rahim c Patil b Mohammad Naveed 4 (8b 0x4 0x6)

Mithun misses out on a well-deserved half century as he is run out. He plays a shot and starts for a run but the ball quickly reaches the wicketkeeper who gets his victim short of the crease. Ban 81-3 in 11.4 overs.

Mohammad Mithun run out (Patil) b Rohan Mustafa 47 (41b 4x4 2x6)

Sabbir goes for a big one but could not find the distance as he offers a simple catch to Tariq in the deep. Ban 72-2 in 9.3 overs.

Sabbir Rahman c Fahad Tariq b Rohan Mustafa 6 (12b 0x4 0x6)

Mohammad Mithun batting on 38 from 28 balls as Bangladesh reach 65-1 in 8 overs.

UAE finally claim a wicket as the dangerman Sarkar offers a simple catch to Shahzad at mid-on. Ban 46-1 in 5.2 overs.

Soumya Sarkar c & b Mohammad Shahzad 21 (14b 2x4 1x6)

Two high catches dropped as both the openers go on the aggressive smashing two boundaries and a six off skipper Amjad Javed's over. Ban 39-0 in 5 overs.

Three different bowlers bowl the first three overs as UAE do not let Bangladesh openers cut loose. Ban 16-0 in 3 overs.

Positive start for UAE as Naveed gives away only three runs in his first over. Ban 3-0 in 1 over.

Mohammad Mithun Ali and Soumya Sarkar open for the hosts as Naveed prepares to bowl.

UAE won the toss and elected to bowl against Bangladesh in the third match of the Asia Cup T20 at Mirpur on Friday.

Nurul Hasan comes in Imrul Kayes for Bangladesh. For UAE, Qadeer is replaced by Fahad Tariq.

Bangladesh: Nurul Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

UAE: Rohan Mustafa, Muhammad Kaleem, Mohammad Shahzad, Muhammad Usman, Shaiman Anwar, SP Patil, Saqlain Haider, Amjad Javed, Mohammad Naveed, Ahmed Raza, Fahad Tariq