7.21 AM Sunday, 25 February 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:28 06:42 12:35 15:52 18:22 19:36
25 February 2024

Where to watch ICC World Twenty20 in HD in UAE

By Staff

OSN unveils cricket panel who will broadcast live from the OSN studios in Dubai, a regional first Staff Pay-TV network OSN has announced that it will bring sports fans live and exclusive coverage of the upcoming ICC World Twenty20, which starts next week in Bangladesh from March 16 and runs until April 6, 2014, in high definition.

Adding to the excitement and marking a regional first, OSN also unveiled its first cricket panel comprising a world-class team of cricketing greats who will broadcast live from the OSN’s studios in Dubai Media City.

OSN’s live studio panel includes cricketing legends VVS Laxman, Waqar Younis, Adam Gilchrist and Michael Vaughan, who have represented the national teams of India, Pakistan, Australia and England, respectively. Jim Rosenthal will play the role of anchor as the panel bring their views to the region.

Andy Warkman, OSN’s VP Sport & Production, said: “The ICC World Twenty20 is one of the biggest tournaments in world sport and cricket fans in the region can look forward to three weeks of excitement and entertainment. The OSN Cricket studio team of Laxman, Younis, Gilchrist and Vaughan is pure box office and will be giving their views on the tournament from the OSN Studios in Dubai”

VVS Laxman, former Indian batsman and captain of the Deccan Chargers in the IPL, is one of India’s most celebrated cricketers, was also one of the few cricketers to receive the Padma Shri award, the Government of India’s civilian honour.

Waqar Younis is regarded as one of the greatest fast bowlers of all time and holds the record of being the youngest Pakistani Test captain, and the third youngest Test captain in the history of the industry and last year was inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

Adam Gilchrist holds the world record for the most dismissals by a wicket keeper in One Day International cricket, and the most by an Australian in test cricket, and was also inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame last year.

Michael Vaughan was ranked as one of the world’s best batsmen following the 2002/2003 Ashes, in which he scored 633 runs, including three centuries and famously lifted in Ashes in 2005.

This year, 16 teams will go head to head in 35 matches to take home the ICC World Twenty20 trophy. In addition to the UAE, which makes its debut at this year’s ICC World T20 World and are sponsored by OSN , participating teams include Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

The first round matches will start on March 16, with the opener between Bangladesh and Afghanistan while India and Pakistan will feature in the first match of the Super 10 stage on March 21. The semi-finals will be played on  April 3 and 4, and the final will be staged on April 6.

OSN viewers can also enjoy the games on-the-go anytime, anywhere via OSN Play where OSN Sports Cricket HD is streamed live.

In addition, OSN will also broadcast Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014, Champions League T20, Big Bash league and all India, England, Australia, Bangladesh and New Zealand home series.