4.05 PM Wednesday, 27 September 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:52 06:06 12:13 15:36 18:14 19:27
27 September 2023 $dmi_content.escapeHtml4($rs.get('weather.code.w${report.significantWeather.code}')) Max: 38 °

Yogi Thrissur off to a flying start in KPL

The victorious Yogi International-Thrissur Dynamites team with match officials. (SUPPLIED)

By Staff

Yogi International-Thrissur Dynamites got off to a winning start in the Capital KPL Twenty20 tournament organised by the Dubai Cricket Council, when they thumped Thumbay Kasargod Leopards by six wickets.

Vikranth Shetty top scored with 49 which contained four boundaries and a massive six as Yogi Thrissur successfully chased Thumbay Kasargod's total of 145 for seven with nearly three overs to spare.

An inspiring opening spell by Kamran Shehzad put Yogi Thrissur on the back foot after losing Naveed Malik early while Faizan Asif departed after 12-ball cameo of 23.

But Shaiman Butt and Shetty then took control of the game putting on 69 runs for the third wicket with Butt cracking five boundaries in his 32.

Shetty playing with a lot of maturity with a dazzling knock of 49.

Haroon Ifthikar dismissed both but Swapnil Patil and Avadoot Amonkar saw Yogi Thrissur through with 16 balls to spare.

Youngster Mohammed Rameez and experienced Avadoot Amonkar rocked the Thumbay Kasargod's top order after they elected to bat first.

Ifthikar salvaged their innings in partnership with Shadab Khan by posting 95 runs for the fourth wicket.

Shadab top scored with 53 off 38 balls in which he hit three huge sixes and four boundaries while Ifthikar struck four boundaries and a six in his knock of 49.

Mohammed Rameez was the pick of the bowling for Yogi Thrissur claiming three for 23.

Brief scores

Yogi Group Trissur Dynamites beat Thumbay Kasargod Leopards by 6 wickets: Thumbay Kasargod Leopards 145 for 7 in 20 overs (Haroon Iftikhar 49, Shadab Khan 53, Haseeb Tariq 17, Mohammed Rameez 3 for 23) Yogi Group Trissur Dynamites 151 for 4 in 17.2 overs (Faizan Asif 23, Shaiman Butt 32, Vikrant Shetty 49, Kamran Shehzad 2 for 29, Haroon Iftikhar 2 for 26)

Man of the Match : Mohammed Rameez of Yogi Group Trissur Dynamites
Umpires: B.A Khan, Tariq Butt