7.36 AM Friday, 29 September 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:53 06:07 12:12 15:35 18:11 19:25
29 September 2023 $dmi_content.escapeHtml4($rs.get('weather.code.w${report.significantWeather.code}')) Max: 35 °

Poulin takes top honours in Medal event

Gross winner Marc Poulin at the presentation with Stuart Mcmurdo of Jebel Ali Golf Resort & Spa and Jason Froggatt of Emirates Golf Federation. (SUPPLIED)

By Staff

Mark Poulin, Abdul Moiz Khan and Amanda Cameron won their respective divisions in the Emirates Golf Federation’s (EGF) Handicap Scheme Medal event at the Jebel Ali Golf Resort and Spa at the weekend.

Poulin shot a steady gross 85 on a windy day to take the honours in Division A while Moiz Khan turned in a stunning performance despite tough conditions to win the Division B title with 45 stableford points, a good eight points ahead of his nearest challenger Neil Foster.
Playing off an 18 handicap, Moiz Khan produced a solid tee-to-green game, scoring points on almost all the holes.
The battle went down to the wire in the Ladies Division before Cameron was crowned champion. The talented golfer scored 28 points, winning the title on a countback.
The tournament once again turned out to be a big hit with golfing enthusiasts. “In fact, the Medal was oversubscribed and that amply reflects on the growing popularity of the event,” said Saeed Albudoor, general manager of the EGF.
“Our objective behind organising these medal events is to create more playing opportunities for all those who are not a member of any club and improve upon their handicaps. We are really grateful to all clubs in the UAE for their support in offering us special rates and tee times. We look forward to their continued support and hope the forthcoming events will be as successful.”
Division A:
Best gross: Mark Poulin 85: Best Nett- Drew Steedman 79
Division B (stableford):
1. Abdul Moiz Khan 45 points, 2. Neil Foster- 37 points
Ladies Division:
Winner: Amanda Cameron 28 points (on a countback)
Other prizes:
Nearest the Pin on Hole 2 - Ricky Whiting, hole 17 - Alessandro Zanetti
Longest Drive on Hole 4 - Jamie Wilson; Hole 18 - Jaryd Fisher.