10.40 PM Tuesday, 5 December 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:28 06:46 12:12 15:10 17:32 18:51
05 December 2023

Cavendish 'over the moon' after winning Dubai Tour

Britain's Mark Cavendish after his triumph in the Dubai Tour on Saturday. (Supplied)

By Agencies

Britain's Mark Cavendish won the Dubai Tour after outsprinting his rivals to claim Saturday's final fourth stage in the shadow of the Burj Khalifa.

The 29-year-old Isle of Man rider had been deposed at the top of the overall standings on Friday by Germany's John Degenkolb.

But he clinched victory after seeing off Italian Elia Viviani and Spain's Juan Jose Lobato after the closing 128km ride for his second stage win of the week.

With his ten second bonus the Quick Step star, who completed the stage in 2hr 37min 15sec, ended up six seconds clear of Degenkolb, who crossed in ninth place.

Lobato took third overall, 10sec adrift of Cavendish.

Cavendish said he was over the moon after winning the closing 128km ride for his second stage win of the week.

"I am over the moon!" said Cavendish.

"We were the only team (Quick Step) to work all week.

"I am a little frustrated that the other teams didn't share the workload. In fact I was a little bit agitated by it.

"I am really happy for the guys who yet again put in some hard work today."

Tour de France champion Vincenzo Nibali, perhaps with Sunday's start of the Tour of Qatar weighing on his mind, coasted in among the peloton to take 39th spot overall, nearly a minute-and-a-half adrift of Cavendish's winning time.

Dubai Tour results:

4th stage:
1. Mark Cavendish (GBR/Quick Step) 2hr 37min 15sec, 2. Elia Viviani (ITA) same time, 3. Juan Jose Lobato (ESP), 4. Ben Swift (GBR), 5. Andrea Guardini (ITA), 6. Daniele Ratto (ITA), 7. Martijn Verschoor (NED), 8. Davide Cimola (ITA), 9. John Degenkolb (GER), 10. Andrea Palini (ITA) all same time

Overall: 1. Mark Cavendish (GBR/Quick Step) 15hr 22min 38sec, 2. John Degenkolb (GER) at 6sec, 3. Juan Jose Lobato (ESP) 10, 4. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) 12, 5. Marco Canola (ITA) 14, 6. Alessandro Bazzana (ITA) 17, 7. Grega Bole (SLO) 18, 8. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) 18, 9. Manuele Boardo (ITA) 18, 10. Filippo Pozzato (ITA) 18.

Selected: 27. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP) 50, 39. Vicenzo Nibali (ITA) 1min 28sec