12.47 PM Wednesday, 28 February 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:26 06:39 12:34 15:52 18:24 19:37
28 February 2024

Dubai Mammoths win Mavericks Cricket League

Dubai Mammoths with Dubai Cricket Council secretary Amin Farooq (centre) after winning the Mavericks Cricket League. (Supplied)

By Cricket Correspondent

Dubai Mammoths maintain their hold in the tournament by emerging triumphant with a narrow 10 runs victory over a star-studded Mavericks at the The Sevens win the fourth edition of the Mavericks Cricket League.

The League which was held in partnership with the Dubai Cricket Council (DCC) saw four teams - Mavericks Cricket Club, Dubai Mammoths, Alubond Cool & Cool and Chieftains Cricket Club - battle it out over 25 overs.

In the final Dubai Mammoths on winning the toss reached 203 for 6 and restricted Mavericks to 193 for 8.

Opener Vinay Mehra began in right earnest but his partner Ambey Parwatkar (3) and one-down batsman Javed Siddiqui (5) made brief appearances at the crease.

With Vinay too gone after scoring 24 from 18 balls (4x4) the pressure mounted on Mammoths as the score read 48 for 3.

A superb half century from man of the match Syed Maqsood and an equally stubborn knock from Mehra enabled Mammoths to breathe a little easy.

Their 100-run partnership lifted the team’s morale. Maqsood went on to slam three massive sixes and an equal number of boundaries for his 56 from 50 balls while Vijay made a sedate 43 from 50 balls with three fours.

Having laid the platform for a big total it gave Shaadab Khan and Lucky Abbas the privilege to throw their bats around.

Shaadab struck an unbeaten 29 from 18 balls (4x4) and Lucky hit a six and a four for his unbeaten 13 from only four balls he faced.

The target did look stiff but Mavericks went about their task in a planned manner. Their openers Mohammed Junaid (28) and Mohammed Rumman (43) raised 72.

And when Asad Badami was batting flawlessly and with ease it looked like Mavericks would cruise home comfortably. Sudhir Vavilla too was giving him good company. Together they put on 81 runs and took the team to 175.

With just 29 runs needed they seemed to have hit the panic button.

Badami after striking a superb 67 from 40 balls (1x6, 6x4) and Sudhir 28 from 23 balls were removed by Ambey Parwatkar and Vinay Tolani respectively.

Thereafter runs dried up as Tolani (4-30) and Parwatkar (3-31) kept a tight leash on Mavericks and also bagged wickets at regular intervals to stifle their chase.

Amin Farooq, Honorary Secretary of DCC, handed over the trophy to the Winners.
Brief scores:

Dubai Mammoths beat Mavericks CC by 10 runs: Mammoths 203 for 6 in 25 overs (Syed Maqsood 56, Vijay Mehra 43, Shaadab Khan 29 no, Vinay Mehra 24; Shahzad Farooq 2-37, Usman Mastan 2-50) Mavericks  193 for 8 in 25 overs (Asad Badami 67, Mohammed Rumman 43, Mohammed Junaid 28, Sudhir Vavilla 28; Vinay Tolani 4-30, Ambey Parwatkar 3-31). Man of the match: Syed Maqsood of Mammoths.
Best Batsman: Muhammad Junaid of Mavericks
Best Bowler: Ambey Parwatkar of Dubai Mammoths