9.35 AM Tuesday, 26 September 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:52 06:05 12:13 15:36 18:15 19:28
26 September 2023 $dmi_content.escapeHtml4($rs.get('weather.code.w${report.significantWeather.code}')) Max: 40 °

Dubai Tour: World's best cycling champions ready for start

The British king of sprints Mark Cavendish will be one of the star attractions in the Dubai Tour. (SUPPLIED)

By Staff

The cycling world is eagerly anticipating the Dubai Tour’s first edition, which starts on Wednesday February 5 and finishes on Saturday February 8.

Competing on Dubai’s roads will be 16 teams, each with eight riders.

The 16 teams are made up from 11 UCI ProTeams along with three teams classified in the UCI Asia Tour 2013, the United Arab Emirates national team and the Dubai Sky Dive team.

Some of the greatest cycling champions in the world are on the official entry list, including: reigning Road World Champion, Alberto Rui Costa; the 2013 Giro d'Italia winner, Vincenzo Nibali, the British king of sprints Mark Cavendish, the young emerging rival Marcel Kittel and his German compatriot Tony Martin, Swiss rider Fabian Cancellara; the Spanish rider, winner of the 2013 UCI World Tour ranking, Joaquin Rodriguez; the young Slovakian champion Peter Sagan, the Canadian Ryder Hesjedal, the American Taylor Phinney and Ji Cheng from China.

Here's the team list and most important riders:

- LAMPRE – MERIDA: Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (POR), Filippo Pozzato (ITA)

- ASTANA PRO TEAM: Vincenzo Nibali (ITA), Janez Brajkovic (SLO)

- BANCO BIC – CARMIM: Manuel Antunes Amaro (POR), Henrique Casimiro (POR)

- BMC RACING TEAM: Thor Hushovd (NOR), Taylor Phinney (USA)

- CANNONDALE: Peter Sagan (SVK), Damiano Caruso (ITA)

- GARMIN SHARP: Ryder Hesjedal (CAN), Tyler Farrar (USA)

- MOVISTAR TEAM: Alex Dowsett (GBR), Adriano Malori (ITA)

- OMEGA PHARMA – QUICK-STEP: Mark Cavendish (GBR), Tony Martin (GER)

- RTS – SANTIC RACING TEAM: Simon Buttner (FRA), Alex Coutts (GBR)

- SKYDIVE DUBAI PRO CYCLING TEAM: Lucas Sebastian Haedo (ARG), Mohammed Al
Murawwi (UAE)

- TEAM GIANT – SHIMANO: Marcel Kittel (GER), Cheng Ji (CHN)

- TEAM KATUSHA: Joaquin Oliver Rodriguez (SPA), Luca Paolini (ITA)

- TINKOFF SAXO: Oliver Zaugg (SUI), Matteo Tosatto (ITA)

- TREK FACTORY RACING: Fabian Cancellara (SUI), Fumiyuki Beppu (JPN)

- UAE NATIONAL TEAM: Majid Albalooshi (UAE), Mohammed Almansuory (UAE)

- VINI FANTINI – NIPPO – DE ROSA: Pier Paolo De Negri (ITA), Takashi Miyazawa (JPN)

The first stage – a 10km Individual Time Trial – will be held within the new city and named 'The Down Town stage'.

The second stage – 122km long – runs through the area with the most important sports building in Dubai, including as the Hippodrome, the Olympic pool, the Al Qudra cycling path, the Autodrome and the amazing Golf Club. This will be called 'The Sport Stage'.

The third stage, the longest of the race at 162km, will go outside the city and through the desert to finish in Hatta. This stage will be called 'The Nature Stage'.

The fourth and final stage – 124km long – will cross the old part of the city, passing alongside two of the most iconic Dubai buildings: the Burj Al Arab and the Burj Khalifa, the tallest skyscraper in the World at 830 metres high.

This stage will be named 'The Old Dubai Stage'.

Dubai Sports will be the event’s Host Broadcaster and will broadcast all four stages live on Dubai Sports 1 and HD, along with analysis and updates in the news shows.

Dubai Sports Channel will guarantee a wide exposure of the race not only in Dubai and the UAE but also in all the Middle East and North Africa.

European and Asian coverage will be by Eurosport, that will cover live the Dubai Tour on its Pan-European and Asia Pacific network reaching more than 70 countries.

In Italy the event will also be broadcasted by RAI on RAI Sport 2.

The other national broadcasters in the Asian area are: J Sports (Japan) and HySports (China) broadcasting live and Sony TV offering highlights in India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, the Maldives, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan and Afghanistan. In Australia, Fox will show the highlights.