7.06 AM Monday, 11 December 2023
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:31 06:50 12:15 15:12 17:34 18:53
11 December 2023

Phoenix Medicine win Bukhatir League title

Bukhatir League 'A' division champions Phoenix Medicine with Sharjah Cricket Council officials. (SUPPLIED)

By Staff

Saqlain Haider and Asif Mumtaz notched up unbeaten half centuries as Phoenix Medicine defeated Abu Dhabi Gymkhana to emerge champions in the 39th Bukhatir League ‘A’ Division Tournament organized by the Sharjah Cricket Council.

Chasing a target of 207 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, openers Fahad Ansari (25, 19, 4x4) and Hafiz Kaleem (13, 16b, 2x4) provided a breezy start scoring 42 runs in just five overs.

After the openers departed, Abu Dhabi Gymkhana’s Jamal Aslam snared for three wickets in quick succession to put Phoenix in a state of bother.

Phoenix were five down half way through the target and it looked like they were slipping from a position of strength.

With a massive task on hand, Haider and Mumtaz provided the perfect partnership striking well crafted half centuries to help Phoenix Medicine get past the target in 45 overs as celebrations erupted in the dressing room.

The duo shared an unbroken 108 runs stand for the sixth wicket. Haider was unbeaten on 61 from 81 deliveries while Mumtaz scored a fine 55 not out from 61 balls consisting of five hits to the fence and one over it.

Earlier, winning the toss and opting to bat first, Abu Dhabi Gymkhana got off to a rousing start with openers Arfan Haider and Saqib Shah sharing a superb 72 runs for the first wicket.

Haider hit a fine 32 from 48 balls with the help of three boundaries while Shah faced 50 balls to hit 35 containing two fours and a six.

Phoenix Medicine’s Mohsin Anwer and Mohammad Qasom claimed three wickets each to slow down Abu Dhabi Gymkhana’s progress.But Ali Azmat (21), Asim Khursheed (24), Jameel Aslam (21) and Mohammad Rehan (25 not out) chipped in with useful scores as Phoenix Medicine reached 206 for nine in the allotted 50 overs.

Other than the winners and runners-up claiming cash prizes and trophies, Saqib Hussain Shah of Abu Dhabi Gymkhana bagged the Best Allrounder of the tournament, Ali Azmat again of Abu Dhabi Gymkhana took the Best Batsman and the Best Bowler went to Adeel Safi of Cost Cutter CC.

Brief scores:

Phoenix Medicine bt Abu Dhabi Gymkhana by 5 wickets: Abu Dhabi Gymkhana: 206 for 9 in 50 overs (Arfan Haider 32, Saqib Shah 35, Ali Azmat 21, Asim Khursheed 24, Jameel Aslam 21, Mohammad Rehan 25 not out; Mohsin Anwer 3 for 38, Mohammad Qasom 3 for 27). Phoenix Medicine: 209 for 5 in 45 overs (Fahad Ansari 25, Adil Mirza 15, Saqlain Haider 61 not out,  Asif Mumtaz 55 not out; Jameel Aslam 3 for 31). Man of the Match: Saqlain Haider. Umpires: Arshad Ansari and Iftikhar Ali. Scorers: Muhammad Asif and Thassim Junkeer.

Other awards:

Best Allrounder: Saqib Hussain Shah of Abu Dhabi Gymkhana
Best Batsman: Ali Azmat again of Abu Dhabi Gymkhana
Best Bowler: Adeel Safi of Cost Cutter CC