7.45 AM Wednesday, 24 April 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:27 05:45 12:20 15:47 18:49 20:07
24 April 2024

PSL T20: Sharjeel ton sends Afridi's Peshawar Zalmi packing

By Cricket Correspondent

Islamabad United have knocked out favourites Peshawar Zalmi to enter the final of the inaugural PSL final with an emphatic 50-run win at Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

United will meet Quetta Gladiators in the final on Tuesday.

Zalmi had to play catch up after an epoch century by Sharjeel Khan (117) saw United make an imposing 176-3.

Only Kamran Akmal (45) and skipper Afridi (38) managed to enter double figures as spinner Khalid destroyed the Zalmi top order to finish with four for 20 while Russell claimed three for 37.

Russell castles last man Asghar for duck as Peshawar are all out for 126 in 18 overs.

Mohammad Asghar b Russell 0 (2b)

Afridi hammers a couple of sixes and a boundary off Russell before perishing after a blazing knock. Zalmi 126-9, 17.4 overs.

Shahid Afridi c Smith b Russell 38 (17b 2x4 4x6)

Peshawar are crashing line Ten Pins. Zalmi 105-8, 16.3 overs.

Hasan Ali c Misbah-ul-Haq b Sami 1 (4b)

Afridi seems to be running out of partners as Riaz miscues to long-on. Zalmi 101-7, 15.2 overs.

Wahab Riaz c Russell b Irfan 1 (3b)

Russell has struck yorking Yousuf with a snorter. Zalmi 100-6, 14.4 overs.

Shahid Yousuf b Russell 4 (5b)

Afridi keeps alive Peshawar's hopes with another thundering hit into the stands.

Afridi shows his intentions by whacking Sami for a monstrous six over midwicket. Zalmi 92-5, 14 overs.

The asking rate has spiralled to over 13 after 13 overs. Zalmi 82-5, 13 overs.

Khalid seems to have Zalmi in a spin as Sammy is bowled round his legs. Zalmi 80-5, 12.5 overs.

Darren Sammy b Imran Khalid 9 (8b 2x4)

Khalid strikes as Hodge departs undone by the spin to hole out in the deep. Zalmi 75-4, 12.2 overs.

Brad Hodge c sub (Kamran Ghulam) b Imran Khalid 5 (11b)

The asking rate has soared to over 12 an over and Sammy steers Irfan through the covers for a boundary. Zalmi 75-3, 12 overs.

Blow for Zalmi as Kamran perishes being stumped after giving Khalid the charge. Zalmi 66-3, 10.1 overs.

Kamran Akmal st Haddin b Imran Khalid 45 (32b 5x4 2x6)

Kamran slog sweeps Khalid for a towering six over midwicket but Hafeez perishes miscuing a pull shot. Zalmi 59-2, 8.5 overs.

The asking rate has climbed to over 10 as Zalmi looking down the barrel. Zalmi 51-1, 8 overs.

Kamran breaks the shackles by slamming Badree down the ground for a six. Zalmi 44-1, 7 overs.

Badree strikes after being hit for a boundary by Malan who is caught behind. Zalmi 24-1, 3.5 overs.

Dawid Malan c Haddin b Badree 7 (12b 1x4)

Kamran slices a full toss from Irfan through the gap on the off for a boundary followed by two consecutive hit to the fence. Zalmi 18-0, 3 overs.

Badree bowls a maiden to Malan as Zalmi open without Hafeez. Zalmi 4-0, 2 overs.

Kamran pulls Irfan for the first boundary of the innings as Peshawar beging chasing 177.

Islamabad innings

A monumental century by Pakistan discard Sharjeel Khan (117 off 62 balls with 12 boundaries and eight sixes) has powered Islamabad United to 176-3 after being put into bat.

Sharjeel monumental innings comes to an end. United 171-3, 19.4 overs.

Sharjeel Khan run out 117 (62b 12x4 8x6)

Tait has been flayed for another six by Sharjeel. United 151-2, 17 overs.

Sharjeel has clubbed Afridi over over long-off for a six for the first century in PSL history.

Latif survives after being caught off a no-ball before slamming the free-hit from Ali for a boundary. United 1130-2, 15 overs.

Latif averts the hat-trick ball while Sharjeel continues unfazed gliding Tait for a boundary to third man before upper cutting a short ball for his sixth six to move into the 90s. United 120-2, 14 overs.

Tait is on a hat-trick after castling Haddin with a fiery yorker. United 108-2, 13.2 overs.

Brad Haddin b Tait 0 (1b)

Tait finally gets the breakthrough as the struggling Smith perishes. United 108-1, 13.1 overs.

Dwayne Smith lbw b Tait 19 (37b)

Riaz has been pummelled for a gigantic six by Sharjeel who is revelling in the Ring of Fire. United 108-1, 13 overs.

Sharjeel is in sizzling form slamming Sammy over extra cover for another boundary before whipping one over backward square leg for a six. United 99-0, 12 overs.

Riaz comes into the attack but even he is not spared by Sharjeel who cuts him for a boundary. United 87-0, 11 overs.

Sharjeel is brilliant form moving across and paddle sweeping Afridi for a boundary to bring up his half century before smashing a six over midwicket. United 79-0, 10 overs.

Asghar has been smashed for the first maximum by Sharjeel who is on fire slamming another six and boundary. United 66-0, 9 overs.

Sharjeel picks up a boundary by cutting Afridi to point despite a valiant attempt by Hafeez. United 49-0, 8 overs.

Afridi brings himself on now and the spinners are putting the brakes on Islamabad. United 36-0, 6 overs.

Spin introduced as Asghar is spot on conceding just a single. United 34-0, 5 overs.

Sharjeel is looking in ominous form slamming Tait down the ground for another boundary. United 33-0, 4 overs.

Sharjeel is finding the boundary with ease pulling Hasan to fine leg before driving down the ground for another boundary. United 26-0, 3 overs.

Tait strays on the leg side and Sharjeel has flicked it behind square for another boundary. United 16-0, 2 overs

Sharjeel hits the first boundary of the match flicking Hasan Ali to midwicket with sweet timing. United 6-0, 1 over.

Shahid Afridi has won the toss and not surprisingly Peshawar Zalmi have opted to bowl first in the third Qualifying Final of PSL against Islamabad United at Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

Peshawar Zalmi are hot favourites to enter the final of the inaugural Pakistan Super League (PSL) when they take on Islamabad United in a virtual semi-final clash at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

The winner of Sunday's clash will meet Quetta Gladiators in the final on Tuesday February 23.

Shahid Afridi-led Zalmi get a second chance to book their berth in the final after going down to Quetta Gladiators in a thriller on Friday.

Zalmi are hot favourites to stop United whom they beat convincingly in both league matches.

However, Misbah ul Haq-led United are on a roll after notching three consecutive win and could yet spring a suprise.

United trounced a disoriented Karachi Kings by nine wickets in the second Qualifying Final on Saturday night restricting the opposition to the lowest PSL total of 111-9.

Zalmi are the crowd favourites and have a well balanced side with Hafeez and Sammy in good nick while Tait, Riaz and Asghar form a deadly attack.

For United former Australian wicket Haddin has in great form while West Indian is peaking at the right time.

Sami, Irfan and Badree apart from Ajmal are the key weapons in their arsenal.

Islamabad United: Amad Butt, Ashar Zaidi, Asif Ali, Azhar Mahmood, S Badree, BJ Haddin, Imran Khalid, Kamran Ghulam, Khalid Latif, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Sami, Rumman Raees, AD Russell, Saeed Ajmal, Sharjeel Khan, DR Smith, Umar Amin

Peshawar Zalmi: Aamer Yamin, Abdur Rehman, J Allenby, JM Bairstow, Hasan Ali, BJ Hodge, Imran Khan (1), Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal, DJ Malan, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Hafeez, DJG Sammy, Shahid Afridi, Shahid Yousuf, SW Tait, Tamim Iqbal, Wahab Riaz