UAE draw Brazil in Fifa U-17 World Cup

Fifa Director of Competitions Mustapha Fahmy reads the final draw during the Official Draw of the Fifa U-17 World Cup UAE 2013 at the Fairmont Hotel in Abu Dhabi on August 26, 2013. (AFP)

UAE were drawn with Honduras, Brazil and Slovakia Fifa U-17 World Cup UAE 2013 at the Official Draw held in Abu Dhabi on Monday.

The glittering ceremony held at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel was graced by Sheikh Nahyan Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Culture, Youth and Community Development and chairman of the Local Organising Committee.

"This tournament will be one of a kind for the players and for all football fanatics. It will be a unique and fun experience for everyone. The tournament will bring together people from all around the world. Sport brings people together and has the power to unite people of all backgrounds, of all colours, all races ... of all shapes and all sizes," he said welcoming the participants.

The 52-match Fifa U-17 World Cup UAE 2013 will be played between October 17 and November 8 in the six host cities of Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ras Al Khaimah, Fujairah, Sharjah and Al Ain.

Rafael Salguero, Chairman of the Organising Committee for the Fifa U-17 World Cup, said: "Football unites people all over the world as we can see right now here in this room. Representatives of at least 24 nations are here tonight, attending the first official step of the main event, the Official Draw for the Fifa U17 World Cup."

The ceremony concluded with folk dances performed by local artists, reflecting the history and cultural treasures of the host nation.

The teams were divided into four pots for the draw, with the continental champions from Europe, Africa, South America, Asia, North and Central America and the Caribbean all seeded, and the host nation assigned the seeded position as team one in Group A. The teams were then drawn into six groups of four.

The opening match at 5pm on October 17 sees Brazil and Slovakia face off at Mohammed Bin Zayed stadium in Abu Dhabi.

CONCACAF champions Mexico start the defence of the trophy they won two years ago on home soil in Group F against Nigeria, Iraq and Sweden. This group is based at Al Ain stadium, with the Mexicans opening their campaign on October 19 against Nigeria.

Groups (location in brackets):

Group A (Abu Dhabi, Ras Al Khaimah): UAE, Honduras, Brazil, Slovakia

Group B (Ras Al Khaimah, Abu Dhabi): Uruguay, New Zealand, Côte d'Ivoire, Italy

Group C
(Fujairah, Sharjah): Croatia, Morocco, Panama, Uzbekistan

Group D (Sharjah, Fujairah): Tunisia, Venezuela, Russia, Japan

Group E (Dubai, Al Ain): Canada, Austria, Iran, Argentina

Group F (Al Ain, Dubai): Mexico, Nigeria, Iraq, Sweden

Print Email