1.19 PM Sunday, 25 February 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 05:28 06:42 12:35 15:52 18:22 19:36
25 February 2024

Al Sayed takes top honours at Awafi Bodybuilding Championship

Winners of the 85kg Open weight category at the Awafi Bodybuilding Championships on the stage after the prize presentation. (SUPPLIED)

By Staff

Mohammad Bin Kayed honours winners of Bodybuilding Championship at Awafi Festival 2011
45 contestants participate in four categories

Firas Ziyad Al Sayed was adjudged the winner of the Open weight category in the Bodybuilding Championship held as part of the Awafi Festival in Ras Al Khaimah.

Al Sayed snatched first place, while Jee Catile came second, with third place going to Khalid Khamees Al Khansoori in the 85kg Open weight category.

The championship held for the first time as part of Awafi’s activities attracted  45 contestants who competed in four categories: 65kg, 75kg, 85kg and 85kg open weight category.

Abdul Wahab Ahmed was the winner in the 65kg category. Bader Isa Ali Shaheen was the first runner up, Barakat Mawla Al Blooshi was second runner up, while Mishal Al Hosani finished fourth.

The winner in the 75kg category was Iyad Al Kilani, while second place went to Hisham Abou Al Maati. Fahed Mubarak Al Junaibi, Abdul Rahman Ismail and Ahmad Ali Ramadan won the third, fourth and fifth places respectively.

Anish Raj emerged as the winner in the 85kg category, while Ahmed Mohammed Shamsan was second, Hasan Salhi third and Ghos Mohammed Ghbash came fourth.

Sheikh Mohammed bin Kayed Al Qasimi, Vice-Chairman of the RAK Department of Economic Development and Vice-Chairman of the Higher Organising Committee of the Awafi Festival attended the Bodybuilding Championship that was held as part of the festival at the Grand Theatre of the Center of the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Community Development in Ras Al Khaimah.

The Festival’s Higher Committee pointed out that the championship is part of a wide range of activities of Awafi Festival 2011, being held in line with the directions of Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Ras Al Khaimah.

The championship was held under the patronage of Major General Sheikh Talib bin Saqr Al Qasimi, commander-in-chief of Ras Al Khaimah Police.

The championship also witnessed the presence of Sheikh Omar bin Talib Al Qasimi; Hussain Al Saffar, President of Asian Bodybuilding and Physique Sports Federation (ABBF); Faisal Abdul Aziz Al Matar, General Coordinator of the Awafi Festival in Ras Al Khaimah; Mohammed Abdullah Abdullah, a member of Awafi’s Higher Committee and Chairman of the Sports Committee; Ahmed Abdel Hadi, Technical Secretary of the Emirates Bodybuilding Federation and the President of the Bodybuilding Championship; Salem Ali Said, Head of the Referees Committee for Awafi Bodybuilding Championship; and Mohammed Shaheen Al Hosani, Head of the Referees Committee at the federation. The competitions were managed by 16 referees from the federation.

The two-day tournament was organised by the Higher Organising Committee of Awafi Festival in association with the Department of Economic Development in Ras Al Khaimah, the major sponsor of the Festival, under the supervision of the UAE Bodybuilding & Physical Strength Society.

The tournament attracted global players, like Faris Ziad Al Sayed and Ammar Al Khanfori, the guest of honour.

“The Awafi Festival Bodybuilding Championship is ranked second best among the leading bodybuilding championships in the UAE and first in terms of the way it is organised”, said Salem Ali Said, Head of the Referees Committee and member of the organising committee.

“The organizing committee of the championship allocated cash prizes of Dh3,000 to the 1st place winner, Dh2,000 to the 2nd place winner and Dh1,000 to the 3rd place winner, as well as a voucher worth Dh1,000 to every contestant, courtesy of Power Magic”.

Saeed added that “the Awafi Bodybuilding Championship generated major positive response from the spectators, who admired the tournament, the skills of players and way the championship was organised.”