2.46 PM Monday, 15 July 2024
  • City Fajr Shuruq Duhr Asr Magrib Isha
  • Dubai 04:10 05:35 12:28 15:50 19:15 20:39
15 July 2024

UAE,Saudi Arabia,among six new countries invited to join BRICS

By E247

BRICS invites six new countries to join bloc, including UAE,Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia,and  Iran.

The BRICS group of nations has invited six new countries to join the bloc that has pledged to champion the "Global South". The debate over the expansion of BRICS - Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa - topped the agenda at the three-day summit in Johannesburg. While all BRICS members have publicly expressed support for expanding the five-member bloc, reports suggested divisions among the leaders over how much and how quickly.

South Africa's President Cyril Ramaphosa said that Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia and UAE have been invited to join the BRICS as part of the first phase of expansion. The new membership will be effective from January 1, 2024.

“As a five BRICS countries, we have reached an agreement on the guiding principles, standards, criteria, and procedures on the BRICS expansion process which has been in discussion for quite a while,” Ramaphosa told a joint media briefing.

“We have consensus on the first phase of this expansion process and other phases will follow.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Ramaphosa for the successful summit and said India has always fully supported the expansion of BRICS membership.

"India has always believed that the addition of new members will further strengthen BRICS as an organisation and it will give our shared efforts a new impetus. This will also strengthen the belief of many countries in the multipolar world order," PM Modi said.
Prime Minister Modi expressed confidence that BRICS, along with the new members, will be able to infuse new momentum and new energy into the bloc's cooperation. He noted that India has had very deep and historic relations with new BRICS members, adding that new dimensions will be also added to the bilateral cooperation.

“The expansion and modernisation of BRICS is a message that all institutions in the world need to mould themselves according to changing times. This is an initiative that can be an example of reforms in other global institutions that were established in the 20th century,” the prime minister said, in an obvious reference to the long-pending demand to expand the UN Security Council by increasing the number of both permanent and non-permanent representatives.