Group A with India and Afghanistan

Captain: Stuart Board. 

Coach: Andy Flower 

England defend the World Twenty20 title they won in the Caribbean two years ago without 2010 man of the tournament Kevin Pietersen, who remains in international exile after repeated run-ins with team officials.

Much will depend on how the likes of Alex Hales, effectively Pietersen's replacement, and the rest of the top order cope on the kind of spin-friendly pitches where England's batsmen have so often struggled in the past.

Left-arm spinner Danny Briggs, a star performer for English domestic Twenty20 champions Hampshire, could be important especially if experienced off-spinner Graeme Swann remains troubled by an elbow problem.

Pace bowling all-rounder Stuart Broad, one of eight survivors from the 2010 squad, captains the side, with Jade Dernbach's various slower deliveries set for their sternest test yet. 

England squad: Stuart Broad (capt), Jonathan Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright. 


  • Twitter
  • submit to reddit
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in Sports


Emirates 24|7

In Case You Missed It ...

Happiness Meter Icon