IPL T20 KKR vs DD: Kolkata rout Delhi by 9 wickets

Carlos Brathwaite of the West Indies celebrates hitting the winning runs with Marlon Samuels to win the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 Final between England and the West Indies at Eden Gardens on April 3, 2016 in Kolkata, India. (Getty Images)

Kolkata Knight Riders romped to a nine-wicket win over Delhi Daredevils who were bundled out for 98 in Match 2 of IPL at Eden Gardens on Sunday.

KKR knocked off the target in 14.1 overs for the loss of the Robin Uthappa who cracked seven boundaries in his fluent 35 during an opening stand of 69 with Gautam Gambhir who remained unbeaten on 38.

Andre Russell and Brad Hogg claimed three wickets apiece justifying KKR skipper Gambhir's decision to bowl first.

Kolkata innings

Mishra breaks the partnership with Uthappa holing out to the deep. KKR 69-1, 9.4 overs.

Robin Uthappa c Morris b Mishra 35 (33b 7x4)

Uthappa is in good nick punching Zaheer and Coulter-Nile with classic straight drives to the fence. KKR 47-0, 6 overs.

Uthappa cracks two consecutive boundaries off Coulter-Nile, including an edge past the vacant second slip. KKR 29-0, 3 overs.

Gambhir flicks Zaheer for a couple of boundaries on the leg side while Uthappa punches him through the covers. KKR 20-0, 2 overs.

Uthappa slams Coulter-Nile past midwicket as Kolkata begin chasing 99.

Delhi innings

Delhi Daredevils are bundled out for 98 in 17.4 overs after being put into bat with Russell claiming three for 24 and Hogg three for 19.

Chawla and Hastings picked up two apiece.

Zaheer Khan c Pandey b Hastings 4 (9b 1x4)

Hogg is turning it on as Mishra edges to slip. DD 92-9, 15.4 overs.

Amit Mishra c Gambhir b Hogg 3 (9b)

Hogg strikes with a gripping spinner which finds the outside edge of Samson. DD 84-8, 13.1 overs.

Sanju Samson c Uthappa b Hogg 15 (13b 2x4)

Chawla strikes as Morris departs after hammering a couple of boundaries. DD 84-7, 12.4 overs.

Chris Morris b Chawla 11 (9b 2x4)

Brathwaite slog sweeps Chawla for a six first ball before being trapped leg before. DD 67-6, 10.5 overs.

Carlos Brathwaite lbw b Chawla 6 (4b 1x6)

Hogg strikes as Negi jumps out in frustration only to be stumped by a mile. DD 55-5, 10 overs.

Pawan Negi st Uthappa b Hogg 11 (19b 1x6)

Negi steps back and sends Munro sailing over long off for a six. DD 49-4, 8 overs.

Delhi are in deep trouble as Nair slices to point. DD 35-4, 5.3 overs.

Karun Nair c Pandey b Hastings 3 (8b)

Russell is on fire as Agarwal holes out to Hogg. DD 31-3, 4.5 overs.

Mayank Agarwal c Hogg b Russell 9 (11b 1x4)

Double strike by Russell as Iyer is trapped leg before. DD 25-2, 3 overs.

Shreyas Iyer lbw b Russell 0 (3b)

Russell strikes as de Kock miscues an attempted pull shot with Pathan pouching it after a bit of wobble. DD 24-1, 2.2 overs.

Quinton de Kock c Pathan b Russell 17 (10b 1x4 1x6)

De Kock rocks back and pulls Umesh to midwicket for his first boundary followed by the first maximum of the match. DD 23-0, 2 overs.

Agarwal lofts Russell inside out over extra cover first ball for a boundary. DD 13-0, 1 over.

Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir has won the toss and put Delhi Daredevils into bat.


KKR: Gambhir, Uthappa, Pandey, Munro, Suryakumar Yadav, Yusuf Pathan, Russell, Chawla, Hastings, Hogg, Umesh

DD: Agarwal, Iyer, De Kock, Nair, Samson, Brathwaite, Negi, Morris, Mishra, Zaheer, Coulter-Nile.


All eyes will be on West Indian power hitter Carlos Brathwaite when Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) take on Delhi Daredevils (DD) in Match 2 of IPL at Eden Gardens Kolkata on Sunday.

Brathwaite could lift the fortunes of DD having attained stardom following his spectacular blast during the World T20 final to seal victory for West Indies.

"Power-hitting is something that the Delhi Daredevils require of me and I would want to do it for them," said the all-rounder from Barbados who will be making his debut in the IPL.

Daredevils haven’t had the best of times in recent seasons finishing at the floor of the table twice in 2013 and 2014 and seventh among eight teams last season.

However, the table-toppers in the 2012 season, will be hoping for a change in fortunes having roped in Paddy Upton (coach) and Rahul Dravid (mentor).

They are up against a side that narrowly missed qualifying for the Playoffs last season.

KKR have emerged champions twice in the last five seasons under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir.

They also enjoy a 9-6 win-loss record in IPL matches against DD, winning both matches last season.

“Everyone is excited and looking forward to a good start. Hopefully, we start off well and continue that into the entire tournament,” said KKR captain Gambhir said.